Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Ecology, Evolution & Organismal Biology Resources  Tags: ecology evolution biology science environment  

Ecology and evolution resources for students and faculty.
Last update: Oct 15th, 2009 URL: http://instr.iastate.libguides.com/eeob  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Websites             Print Page
  
 

Websites

AmphibiaWeb
Information about amphibian biology and conservation.

Audubon's Birds of America
Digital images from Jon James Audubon's Birds of America. From the University Library System at the University of Pittsburgh.

Avibase - The World Bird Database
"Avibase is an extensive database information system about all birds of the world, containing over 2 million records about 10,000 species and 22,000 subspecies of birds, including distribution information, taxonomy, synonyms in several languages and more. This site is managed by Denis Lepage and hosted by Bird Studies Canada, the Canadian copartner of Birdlife International."

BiologyBrowser
Life sciences information resources, searchable by organism, subject, or geography.

BioNumbers
Database of biological numbers. If you need to find out the number of hairs on the human head or the number of neurons in a mouse brain, this resource is an excellent place to look.


The Complete Work of Charles Darwin
"This site contains Darwin's complete publications and many of his handwritten manuscripts. There are over 50,000 searchable text pages and 40,000 images."

Conservation Directory
Produced by the National Wildlife Federation. "Guide to the thousands of environmental non-profit, education, commercial, and government groups operating across the planet."

Ecological Society of America (ESA)
The ESA publishes the following journal: Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment, Ecological Applications, Ecological Monographs, Ecology, and Ecology.

FishBase
An information system with key data on the biology of over 26,000 fish species worldwide, plus more than 1,400 larval species. Includes thousands of photographs and literature references. Developed at the International Center for Living Aquatic Resources Management (ICLARM) in collaboration with many organizations.

International Field Guides database
"This site merges the book A Guide to Field Guides: Identifying the Natural History of North America by Diane Schmidt, Biology Librarian at the University of Illinois, and its companion Web site International Field Guides.  After the publisher returned copyright to the book, the author decided to combine the two products and create a searchable database of field guides for plants, animals, and other objects in North America and around the world. Except where noted, all guides listed here were personally examined by the author."

IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
The world's most comprehensive inventory of the global conservation status of plant and animal species. Contains assessments of more than 18,000 species, 11,000 of which are threatened.

Iowa Department of Natural Resources

Macaulay Library: Archive of Animal Sounds and Video
This online collection of animal sounds and video is a project of the Macaulay Library and the Cornell Lab of Ornithology. 

National BIological Information Infrastructure (NBII)
A large collection of resources about plants, animals, ecological and geographical topics, and information about museum collections.

Natural Resources and Environment (United States Department of Agriculture)
Access a wide variety of resources from the USDA. Resources include: forest service maps & guides; plants database, invasive species information, and much more.

NatureServe
A leading source for information about rare and endangered species and threatened ecosystems. Includes NatureServe Explorer, a database containing authoritative conservation information for over 50,000 plants, animals, and ecological communities of the U.S. and Canada. Click on the "Get Data" tab to access the NatureServe databases.

Tree of Life
Extensive information about organisms and their evolutionary history and taxonomy.

U.S. Geological Survey
Biology, geology, mapping, and water resources. Includes some fish and wildlife resources.

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageAndrea Dinkelman, Assistant Professor
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait