Search the Library Catalog
Electronic Books
- Encyclopedia of Bioethics Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library. Click on the "Environment", "Science", and "Social Science" categories for a listing of titles.
- Encyclopedia of Inland Waters
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences Contains articles from all areas of the life sciences. This is a good place to begin if you are searching for background information.
- Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia This is also available in print; it is located in Tier 2. Call number: QL7 G7813 2003
- National Academies Press - Biology and Life Sciences
- National Academies Press - Earth Sciences
- Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia
Reference Books
The reference books for the life sciences are located in Tier 2 at Parks Library. You'll find a large collection of encyclopedias and handbooks related to all areas of the life sciences. Subjects include: birds & mammals, ecology, genetics, insects, microbiology, and plants. These are a few of the titles you'll find:
- Catalogue of American amphibians and reptiles.
- Darwin's fishes: An encyclopedia of ichthyology, ecoly, and evolution / Daniel Pauly
- Encyclopedia of animal behavior / edited by Marc Bekoff
- Encyclopedia of evolution / Mark Pagel, editor in chief. - Useful if you need background information related to evolutionary theories or processes.
- Encyclopedia of evolution / Stanley A. Rice ; foreword by Massimo Pigliucci.
- Evolution of the insects / David Grimaldi, Michael S. Engel.
- Handbook of bird biology / Sandy Podulka, Ronald W. Rohrbaugh Jr., and Rick Bonney, editors.
- Handbook of the birds of the world / [edited by] Josep del Hoyo, Andrew Elliott, Jordi Sargatal ... [et al.] ; colour plates by Francesc Jutglar ... [et al.] ; consultant for status and conservation sections, Nigel J. Collar.
- Rivers of North America / edited by Arthur C. Benke & Colbert E. Cushing.
Discover More Books
- WorldCat - A "SuperCatalog" listing the books and other resources owned by thousands of libraries across the U.S. and around the world. If ISU doesn't have something, we can usually borrow it--see Interlibrary Loan below.
- Interlibrary Loan from the ISU Library - Any current ISU student, staff, faculty member or holder of the ISU Library Visitor's Card can request materials from other libraries from Interlibrary Loan.
Subject Librarian |
Contact Info:
152 Parks Library
515-294-6943
2280 Veterinary Medical Library
515-294-2233
Send Email
Subjects:
Animal Science, Bioinformatics, Ecology Evolution & Organismal Biology, Genetics Development & Cell Biology, Microbiology, Veterinary Medicine
152 Parks Library
515-294-6943
2280 Veterinary Medical Library
515-294-2233
Send Email
Subjects:
Animal Science, Bioinformatics, Ecology Evolution & Organismal Biology, Genetics Development & Cell Biology, Microbiology, Veterinary Medicine
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait