This is the "Home" page of the "American Indian Studies: Getting Started with Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

American Indian Studies: Getting Started with Research  Tags: research american_indian native_american indians articles e-journals biography  

Getting started with research in American Indian Studies
Last update: Jan 17th, 2010 URL: http://instr.iastate.libguides.com/content.php?pid=1716  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  

Quick Links!

 

Tell Me What You Think!

Was this guide helpful to you?  Please answer the poll or leave a comment!
Yes!
Not really... (please leave a comment for me!)

 

Find Articles

Items listed here are basic research tools useful for finding journal, magazine, and newspaper articles relevant to American Indian studies.

  • Bibliography of Native North Americans  
      
    This is the #1 place for finding articles, citations to books, and reports related to American Indians. Covers major research journals and magazines such as American Indian Quarterly, American Indian Culture & Research Journal, Wicazo Sa Review, & more.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch  
      
    Full-text articles from U.S. racial and ethnic minority newspapers, news magazines, and some journals. American Indian sources include News from Indian Country; Native American Times; Ojibwe News, Tribal College, and many others!
 

Other sources

Biography Resource Center
If you're looking for biographical information, check here first!  Full-text biographical entries on prominent  individuals; sources for entries are various well-known biographical reference materials (Notable Native Americans, Contemporary Authors, etc.) from the Gale publishing group, along with supplemental material from magazine and journal articles.  Also supports a "Biographical Facts Search," which allows searching by ethnic group, occupation, and other variables.  Some entries include photographs.

Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes (REF E77 G15 1998)
Many American Indian encyclopedias are organized by tribes and regions, such as this one.  Many more encyclopedias like this multivolume set are shelved in the same general area in the Refernece Collection, so you can browse.

Handbook of North American Indians (REF E77 .H25)
Similar to an encyclopedia, this source gives you good historical background information on various tribes.  Authoritative essays and bibliographies comprise this massive twenty-volume set, some of which has yet to be published. Most volumes published to date focus on a particular cultural area (such as the Arctic, the Subarctic, the Northwest Coast, California, the Southwest, and the Great Basin area); other volumes focus on language and race relations between American Indians and whites. From the Smithsonian Institute.  Use the index in back of each volume to pinpoint topics of interest within that volume.

Important Journals Online

Not all American Indian studies journals are available online; many important titles remain in print only! These include the prestigious American Indian Culture & Research Journal, published by UCLA. To find the Library's print and electronic journals relevant to American Indian Studies, search the Library Catalog by Subject Keyword, using these terms: indians and periodicals  You can also use Find e-Journal to search for titles.

  • American Indian Culture & Research Journal  
      
    One of the major research journals in American Indian studies, now available online!
  • American Indian Quarterly (2000-present)  
      
    One of the most important journals in American Indian studies, AIQ's most recent issues are available here online via the Library's Project MUSE subscriptions.
  • American Indian Quarterly (1974-2001 issues)  
      
    Same journal as above; older issues (1974-2001) of AIQ are available online here through the Library's subscription to JStor.
  • Tribal College  
      
    This publication covers current news relevant to American Indian higher education issues. Available via the Library's subscription to Ethnic NewsWatch.
  • Wicazo Sa  
      
    Important interdisciplinary journal focuses on literary and cultural studies; available via JStor.
 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageSusan A. Vega GarcĂ­a


Contact Info:
Head of Instruction
Associate Professor
Race & Ethnic Studies Bibliographer
140 Parks Library
Iowa State University
Ames IA 50011
savega@iastate.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Information literacy, African American Studies, American Indian Studies, Asian American Studies, Latino Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait