Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Biology Resources  Tags: biology science  

Introduction to library resources and other information sources for biology students.
Last update: Oct 13th, 2009 URL: http://instr.iastate.libguides.com/biology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Websites             Print Page
  
 

Websites

AmphibiaWeb
Information about amphibian biology and conservation.

Avibase - The World Bird Database
"Avibase is an extensive database information system about all birds of the world, containing over 2 million records about 10,000 species and 22,000 subspecies of birds, including distribution information, taxonomy, synonyms in several languages and more. This site is managed by Denis Lepage and hosted by Bird Studies Canada, the Canadian copartner of Birdlife International."

BiologyBrowser
Life sciences information resources, searchable by organism, subject, or geography.

BioNumbers
Database of biological numbers. If you need to find out the number of hairs on the human head or the number of neurons in a mouse brain, this resource is an excellent place to look.


Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics
Check out this resource for primary sources in cholera, smallpox, syphillis, yellow fever, and the Spanish influenza.  "Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics is a digital library collection that brings a unique set of resources from Harvard’s libraries to Internet users everywhere. Offering valuable insights to students of the history of medicine and to researchers seeking an historical context for current epidemiology, the collection contributes to the understanding of the global, social–history, and public–policy implications of disease. Contagion is also a unique social-history resource for students of many ages and disciplines."

The Complete Work of Charles Darwin
"This site contains Darwin's complete publications and many of his handwritten manuscripts. There are over 50,000 searchable text pages and 40,000 images."

Macaulay Library: Archive of Animal Sounds and Video
This online collection of animal sounds and video is a project of the Macaulay Library and the Cornell Lab of Ornithology. 

National BIological Information Infrastructure (NBII)
A large collection of resources about plants, animals, ecological and geographical topics, and information about museum collections.

National Library of Medicine: Online Exhibitions and Digital Projects
Check out the
"Profiles in Science" collection. This collection includes exhibits about Francis Crick, Barbara McClintock, and Linus Pauling.

Tree of Life
Extensive information about organisms and their evolutionary history and taxonomy.

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageAndrea Dinkelman, Assistant Professor
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait