Animal Genomics
Websites
Animal Genomics Research - a collection of websites and databases related to animal genomics research for cattle, pigs, chickens, sheep, horses, goats, aquaculture, turkeys, rabbits, cats, dogs, mice, rats, humans, and flies.
Blueprint for USDA Efforts in Agricultural Animal Genomics 2008 -2017 (PDF, 28 pages)
NCBI
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) - Established in 1988 as part of the National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health. Significant resource for molecular biology information. Because of the wealth of information available from the NCBI, I suggest you refer to the NCBI Site Map and/or Resource Guide for more information:
- NCBI Site Map
- Resource Guide - Provides brief descriptions about all of the NCBI resources. Check the Resource Guide if you need a short summary or explanation about a specific resource.
PubMed - Freely available version of MEDLINE. Provides access to human medicine journals and many life sciences journals. Be sure to access PubMed through the library website to view the "Get it@ISU" button in the citation record. Coverage: 1950s - present. More information: PubMed Tutorials and Quick Tours - http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/pubmed.html
About the NCBI - Learn about the NCBIs mission and review "A Science Primer" for introductory information bioinformatics, microarrays, phylogenetics, and SNPs.
Entrez Gene - database of genes that provides a "gene-based" view of information. Records include chromosomal map, Gene Ontology classifications, RefSeq records, GeneRIFs (gene references into function with links to PubMed records)
OMIM: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man - catalog of human genes and genetic disorders. Short review articles with links to PubMed and other NCBI database records.
Sample GenBank Record - Refer to a labeled, sample GenBank record for more information about all of the parts contained in a typical GenBank record.
Taxonomy - "The NCBI taxonomy database contains the names of all organisms that are represented in the genetic databases with at least one nucleotide or protein sequence." This is a good resource to use if you need to look up the scientific name of an organism.
BioSystems Database - "A biosystem, or biological system, is a group of molecules that interact in a biological system. One type of biosystem is a biological pathway, which can consist of interacting genes, proteins, and small molecules. Another type of biosystem is a disease, which can involve components such as genes, biomarkers, and drugs.
A number of databases, such as KEGG and BioCyc, provide diagrams showing the components and products of biological pathways along with corresponding annotations and links to literature. The NCBI BioSystems Database was developed as a collaborative and complementary project to (1) serve as a centralized repository of data; (2) connect the biosystem records with associated literature, molecular, and chemical data throughout the Entrez system; and (3) facilitate computation on biosystems data."
Subject Librarian |
152 Parks Library
515-294-6943
2280 Veterinary Medical Library
515-294-2233
Send Email
Subjects:
Animal Science, Bioinformatics, Ecology Evolution & Organismal Biology, Genetics Development & Cell Biology, Microbiology, Veterinary Medicine
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait