Animal Science Journals
These are just a few of the animal science journals available online from the ISU Library:
- Animal Genetics
- Domestic Animal Endocrinology
- Journal of Animal Science
- Journal of Dairy Science
- Poultry Science
Check the e-journals list for additional journals. If you don't find what you need, check the library catalog to see what journals are available in print. When searching the library catalog for journals, be sure to search by "Serial Title (journals, etc)."
Article Databases - General
While you can go to the individual journals to find information about your topic, it's much more efficient to search an article database for your topic.
The ISU Library subscribes to many different databases that are useful to students and faculty interested in animal science. Deciding which database to use depends on what you are trying to accomplish. For example, does the assignment require you to find articles from the popular press, a trade publication, or scholarly journals?
General Database - Start basic and begin your search here. The databases specific to animal science are listed in the next box.
- Academic Search Elite This is one of the EBSCOHost databases; if you attended high school in Iowa, you've probably used some of the EBSCOHost resources. It indexes popular and scholarly publications.
Subject Databases
The following databases do not contain articles from popular magazines or newspapers. The citations in these databases are from a variety of sources including scholarly journals, conference proceedings, and meeting reports. The most useful resources for animal science are listed below:
- CAB Abstracts Comprehensive database that covers: agriculture; animal and veterinary sciences; human health, food and nutrition; microbiology and parasitology; plant sciences. Includes many international publications. Coverage: 1910-present
- PubMed Provides access to human and veterinary medicine journals and many other life sciences journals. Coverage from the 1948 to the present.
- Web of Science Provides access to the Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900 to the present. Search by keyword or cited reference. A cited reference search will show you who has cited the article since it was published.
- AGRICOLA Covers agricultural economics, animal culture and welfare, biotechnology, human ecology, soil science, and veterinary medicine. AGRICOLA indexes articles, books, theses and patents dated 1970 to the present. Produced by the National Agricultural Library.
- Biosis Previews Covers virtually every life science discipline: agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, ecology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, public health, and toxicology. Coverage from 1926 to the present.
- Food Science & Technology Abstracts (FSTA) Provides access to citations and abstracts dealing with all human food commodities and food processing. FSTA indexes articles, patents, standards, books, conference proceedings, research reports, dissertations, and legislation. Coverage: 1969 - present
Subject Librarian |
152 Parks Library
515-294-6943
2280 Veterinary Medical Library
515-294-2233
Send Email
Subjects:
Animal Science, Bioinformatics, Ecology Evolution & Organismal Biology, Genetics Development & Cell Biology, Microbiology, Veterinary Medicine
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait