Search Tips
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Veterinary Medicine Resources  Tags: veterinary_medicine animal_science  

Introduction to library resources and other information sources for veterinary medicine students and faculty.
Last update: Oct 20th, 2009 URL: http://instr.iastate.libguides.com/veterinary_medicine  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Websites             Print Page
  
 

Websites

  • Animal Diseases -- Links to hundreds of animal disease sites, both general and species-specific, including horses, cattle, swine, sheep, goats, dogs, cats, birds, reptiles, fish.
  • Atlas of Avian Diseases -- From Cornell University, College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Beef Cattle -- "This site includes resources related to beef cattle behavior, management and well-being; breeding and genetics; buildings and equipment; health; marketing; nutrition; physiology; and meat science. This site is not meant to be, nor could it be a complete indexing or listing of all information on these topics." From K-State Libraries in collaboration with the Beef Cattle Institute at Kansas State University.
  • Gateway to Farm Animal Welfare -- From the FAO. "The Gateway provides a single access point for international and national information related to farm animal welfare."
  • The Drost Project -- Includes visual images related to bovine, equine, ovine, and porcine reproduction.
  • Martindale's "Virtual" Veterinary Center -- A wide variety of Web resouces such as dictionaries and glossaries, veterinary curriculum materials, tutorials, and databases.
  • MedlinePlus: Animal Diseases and Your Health-- Links to authoritative Web pages that provide overviews and information on specific conditions of birds, cats, dogs, horses, and other animals as they relate to human health.
  • Open Directory Project. Health. Animal -- Veterinary and alternative medicine resources are arranged by broad categories such as diseases, drugs, products and services, mammals, pets, and veterinarians.
  • Intute: Health and Life Sciences - Veterinary -- Intute is a network of UK universities and partners whose subjects experts evaluate, describe, and organize Web resources for education and research. Search by title, description, or keywords, or browse by CAB subject headings.
  • ViFaVet --  Library, School of Veterinary Medicine, Hannover, Germany.  The "Subject Guide" includes annotated links to many worldwide Internet resources.  Resources are arranged by subject and by animal species. 
  • Veterinarians Speaking for Research -- From the Americans for Medical Progress website. "Americans for Medical Progress (AMP) protects society’s investment in research by nurturing public understanding of and support for the humane, necessary and valuable use of animals in medicine.
  • Veterinary Anatomical Illustrations -- From the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections. "The following illustrations are scanned images taken from the classic works of the German veterinary anatomists, Wilhelm Ellenberger and Hermann Baum, and medical illustrator, Hermann Dittrich. The texts, from which these illustrations were derived, are works published in 1898 and 1911 through 1925, all entitled Handbuch der Anatomie der Tiere für Künstler which can be translated as Handbook (or Atlas) of Animal Anatomy for Artists. The primary focus of these illustrations is on the integumentary and musculoskeletal systems of the horse, cow, dog, lion, goat and deer."
  •  

    Subject Librarian

    Profile ImageAndrea Dinkelman, Assistant Professor
     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait