This is an overview of resources that will help students taking courses in Russian to get on their way to doing quality research.
Last Updated: Jun 3, 2014
Most of our indexes, ejournals, and full-text articles can be accessed off-campus using your ISU Borrower ID and password. See Set your Library password for more information.
Distance Learning students: Can't find your ISUCard number? Login to AccessPlus. Choose ISU IDs in the left sidebar to find your ISUCard number. Your Borrower ID is the last 11 digits of your ISUCard number. (Problems? Contact email@example.com) See also our DL Guide.
These links will help you to be more effective and ethical in your research and writing:
These are the most useful and effective tools for finding scholarly articles in the area of Russian studies. You can use these resources to search for information on specific aspects of Russian language and literature as well as searching for other related terms.
- Academic Search Premier
This covers a wide range of scholarship and is useful as a starting tool, but shouldn't be used in place of LLBA or MLA (listed below). Towards the center of the screen is a box you can click to make sure everything you retrieve in your search is peer-reviewed and scholarly.
- Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
LLBA provides many scholarly articles concerning Russian as a spoken and written language. Use MLA (below) when searching for articles dealing with Russian literary works in translation.
- Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB)
The MLA Bibliography provides citations to scholarly articles on language and literary studies in all modern world languages, including Russian. It is well worth searching along with the above two resources.