This is an overview of resources that will help students taking courses in rhetoric to get on their way to doing quality research.
Last Updated: Jun 3, 2014
Most of our indexes, ejournals, and full-text articles can be accessed off-campus using your ISU Borrower ID and password. See Set your Library password for more information.
Distance Learning students: Can't find your ISUCard number? Login to AccessPlus. Choose ISU IDs in the left sidebar to find your ISUCard number. Your Borrower ID is the last 11 digits of your ISUCard number. (Problems? Contact firstname.lastname@example.org) See also our DL Guide.
These links will help you to be more effective and ethical in your research and writing:
These are the most useful and effective tools for finding scholarly articles in the area of Rhetoric. You can use these resources to search for information on specific areas of study within the area of rhetoric as well as searching for other rhetoric-related terms.
- Academic Search Premier
This covers a wide range of scholarship and is useful as a starting tool, but shouldn't be used in place of Communication Abstracts or MLA (listed below). Towards the center of the screen is a box you can click to make sure everything you retrieve in your search is peer-reviewed and scholarly.
- Communication Abstracts
As rhetoric and communication go hand in hand, this index that provides searchers with citations to thousands of articles in the area of communication studies will be very useful for finding scholarly articles on rhetoric.
This is a database that contains "an inventory of publications in post-secondary composition, rhetoric, technical writing, ESL, and discourse studies" from 1939 to the present. Only a small portion of the articles indexed are available in full-text format.
- Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB)
The MLA Bibliography provides citations to articles in all areas of language study, including rhetoric. It is well worth searching along with the above two resources.