This is the "Home" page of the "New Faculty & TAs: Getting Started at ISU Libraries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Iowa State University

New Faculty & TAs: Getting Started at ISU Libraries   Tags: celt, faculty, getting_started, humanities, information_literacy, learning, research, science, social_sciences, teaching, teaching assistants  

Last Updated: Nov 26, 2013 URL: http://instr.iastate.libguides.com/newfaculty Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to ISU!

Welcome! This guide is intended to help faculty, instructors & TAs who are new to ISU learn about the ISU Libraries, resources, and services that are available to you for your classes, your research, and teaching collaborations with librarians. Enjoy!

 

Top 10 Popular Places!

coffee

1.  Bookends Café
Need a break?  You'll find the best coffee and treats on campus here!

2.  e-Library
Check out our website for information, resources, services galore!

3.  Quick Search
On the e-Library home page, this search tool functions as our library catalog and more.  Use it to find our physical & digital collections, an extensive collection of some of our full-text articles, plus materials on our website.  Be sure to use the drop-down menus to focus your search.  See also our tips on using Quick Search.

4.  Article Indexes & Databases
Not all of our subject-focused indexes are searchable via Quick Search, so you'll definitely want to visit our AID page.  Our online indexes help you & your students find articles in your subject areas.

5.  Guides
Check out our vast collection of online research Guides and class Guides!  These provide research tips and easy access to relevant research tools in your subject areas!

6.  Digital Repository
ISU research and scholarly work is archived here. Participating boosts your profile & readership. Take a look and find out how you can participate!

7.  Scanners in the LCC
Free! Large-format! Save to flash drive or send via email!

8.  Research Study Rooms
Need a quiet research room away from your office and home?  Check it out...

9. Multimedia Production Studios
High-end PC & MAC multimedia authoring studies; software & hardware; scanners

10. Grant Wood Murals & more
Art is everywhere in the Library! Artists represented include Grant Wood, DeStaebler, the Sticks collective, and many more!

 

Want more info?

  • Library Liaison List
    Find out who is your department's designated liaison to the Library. Contact info is listed for your colleague and for the subject specialist librarian.
  • Library Staff Directory
    All about us! Find your librarian & library staff listed here.
  • RSS Feed
    Subscribe to the library RSS feed to get current information.
 

Access!

ISU card

Your ISUCard
Your ISUCard serves as a photo ID and doubles as your ISU Library card for borrowing library materials. The number on your ISUCard and your Library password (see below) are your logins for remote access to many of the Library's online journal articles and subscription databases.

 

Library password
You must be a valid ISU Library user, with a valid registered email address to be able to use this online form to set your Library password. Your ISUCard and this password are required for remote access of our Library's online subscription materials.

Off-Campus Access
Research anywhere, anytime!  When doing library research from off-campus, you'll be prompted to login with your ISUCard number and Library password. Your ISUCard number and Library password allow you to access the Library's many subscription databases, e-journals, e-books, and other services from off-campus.

ISU Distance Education students & instructors, please see our Distance Learning guide and the ISU DE website's New Student Information (pdf) for more specifics about off-campus access and getting your ISUCard number.

 

What We Can Do For You

Subject librarians
Find your librarian here!  We are your primary contacts to learn about library collections and research databases in your subject areas, instructional support for your classes, and reference services. Browse the list to find and contact your Subject librarian today!


Ask Us!
IM, email, phone us!  Your options for library assistance and questions, whether you're here in the library, in your office, or off-campus.

Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery
This speedy delivery service provides a handy way for ISU students, faculty, and staff to have materials delivered to you.  Use the online form to request articles, books & other items be delivered to you.  Use your ISUNetID (not Library password) to login to the online request form!

Borrowing Information
Checkout policies, renewals, recalls, searches, and other services provided for you. 

 

Working Off Campus? What you need to know....

Many of the Library's online resources are subscription materials.  If you're off-campus while trying to connect to that resource, you will need to login to authenticate yourself as a member of the ISU community in order to access that material.  This also includes public finding tools (such as Google Scholar) that link to licensed subscription material owned by specific libraries.

If you're prompted to login while connecting to any of the e-Library resources or services, simply use the last 11 digits of your ISUCard number (sometimes called Borrower ID on Library webpages), and use your Library Password. Don't have or don't remember your Library Password?  Set a new one here.

Problems?

First, if you're using a Virtual Private Network (VPN), turn it off.  A VPN client bypasses the authentication process listed above and delivers your request directly to the commercial database vendor, but without identifying you as an authorized user/subscriber. 

Get help!

Any difficulties finding or using Library resources? Contact us through Ask Us!

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Susan A. Vega GarcĂ­a
Logo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - SkypeLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Head of Instruction
Associate Professor
140 Parks Library
Iowa State University
Ames IA 50011
(515) 294-4052
savega@iastate.edu
Send Email
Ask Us!:
IM, email, or phone
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip