SciTech-Frequently Used Links (Left Sidebar)
Introduction
The following are information resources on the World Wide Web that are available to physicists and students of physics. Some of the following may only be immediately available to the students and faculty of Iowa State University. The web addresses have been included so that non-ISU researchers can get in touch with the publishers of the material.
Other online bibliographies of interest to physicists:
- Astronomy on the Web
http://www.lib.iastate.edu/collections/eresourc/astronomy.html
- Science Resources (General)
- Engineering Resources (General)
- Chemistry on the Web
www.lib.iastate.edu/collections/eresourc/chemistry.html
Index and Abstract Databases
Primary Physics Databases
- arXiv e-Print Archive
Cornell University
arxiv.org/
This is the primary physics pre-print archive on the Internet. It is arranged according to major areas of physics research.
- CERN Document Server (CDS)
Conseil Européen pour la Recherche Nucléaire (CERN)
cdsweb.cern.ch/
This database indexes over 700,000 documents including journal articles, technical reports, preprints, books, software, and other materials in the field of particle physics and related fields. Materials date back to the mid-1900s with full coverage from 1980. Some of the material is available in full-text.
- DOE Information Bridge
Office of Scientific and Technical Information, U.S. Department of Energy
www.osti.gov/bridge/
The Information Bridge indexes technical reports published by the Department of Emergy since 1995. Many of the reports are available in full text. Research included covers various areas of physics, energy development, computer and information science, and other areas.
- Energy Citations Database
Office of Scientific and Technical Information, U.S. Department of Energy
www.osti.gov/energycitations/
The Energy Citations Database indexes research related to energy development, such as nuclear energy, solar energy, wind energy, and new technologies involving traditional energy sources (petroleum, natural gas, coal, etc.) since 1948. Materials covered include journal articles, technical reports, and conference proceedings. This database is based on a series of databases and indexes published by the U.S. Department of Energy and prececessor organizations such as the Atomic Energy Commission.
- INSPEC
Institution of Electrical Engineers
www.lib.iastate.edu/collections/db/inspec.html
(www.iee.org/Publish/)
This is one of the primary physics databases but is no longer available for unlimited searching by Iowa State University personnel. It covers all areas of physics as well as computing, electronics and electrical engineering, and information technology.
- Nuclear Science References (NSR)
Brookhaven National Laboratory, U.S. Department of Energy
www.nndc.bnl.gov/nsr/index.jsp
Nuclear Science References indexes nuclear physics articles containing defined nuclear structures or reaction data. The database contains references to about 175,000 journal articles published since 1910. Currently about eighty journals are being covered.
- Scitation
American Institute of Physics
scitation.aip.org/
Scitation is the electronic journal publishing platform of the AIP. It includes a database of citations to AIP publications (journals, conference proceedings, and standards) and links to the actual articles (which are available to subscribers). It also includes the references to all articles included in the database and links to the online versions of those publications. It covers all areas of physics and related sciences. About 600,000 articles are included in Scitation. Also linked to Scitation is the SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices) database. In addition to AIP publications, it indexes materials from societies associated with the AIP. Scitation and SPIN can be searched simultaneously.
- SPIRES-HEP
Stanford Linear Accelerator Center Library, Stanford University
www.slac.stanford.edu/spires/hep/index.shtml
This database of HEP (High-Energy Physics) research is based primarily on pre-prints but also links to the final journal article citation and fulltext when available.
H. Stephen McMinn |
Stephen McMinnQuote of the Day
Quote of the Dayprovided by The Free Library
Contact Info:
152 Parks Library
Iowa State University
Ames, IA 50014-2140
Send Email
Subjects:
Engineering and Physical Sciences
152 Parks Library
Iowa State University
Ames, IA 50014-2140
Send Email
Subjects:
Engineering and Physical Sciences
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait