Iowa State University
Library Guides! - Browse By Subject
Choose a subject for a list of related guides.

  Search: 
 
Research & Publication
Alert Services: A How-To Guide
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Jun 6, 2014
Covers basic techniques for setting up alerts (a.k.a. current awareness services) - including table of contents and saved searches via email, RSS feed, blogs, twitter, and Facebook.
Alumni & Community Research Resources
by Rebecca Jackson, Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Jun 6, 2014
This guide is intended to alert ISU alumni and the general public to research resources that are available to them from the ISU Libraries - both remotely and on-campus.
Citation Style Guides
by Rebecca Jackson - Last Updated Jul 19, 2014
This page will provide links to various types of style guides available on the Internet. Use these to format citations for papers.
Cited Reference Searching: A How-To Guide
by Jeff Kushkowski, Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Jul 19, 2014
This guide covers search techniques and resources that offer the ability to search the list of references (or footnotes) found in journal articles, books, websites, etc.
Conference Proceedings: A How-To Guide
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Jun 22, 2014
Techniques for locating conference papers and journal articles that were based on conference presentations.
Copyright for Research and Teaching Guide
by Rebecca Jackson - Last Updated May 30, 2014
This guide serves as an introduction to copyright resources, considerations, and options. It is not meant as legal advice. Copyright is a cloudy issue and requires consultation with a copyright lawyer for particular issues.
Creative Commons
by Scholarly Communications Librarians - Last Updated Feb 11, 2014
An overview of Creative Commons history and use, licensing, and resources for authors/creators.
Data Management
by Scholarly Communications Librarians - Last Updated May 8, 2014
The who, what, where, and how of data management at ISU
EndNote & EndNote Web (EndNote online)
by Library Instruction Programs - Last Updated Apr 1, 2014
Getting started with EndNote and EndNote Basic
eNewspapers
by Tobie Matava - Last Updated Jun 11, 2014
Engaged Scholarship
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Jun 6, 2014
This guide is an outgrowth of the ISU Task Force on the Scholarship of Engagement and Outreach from 2013-2014. It is intended to encourage ISU researchers to pursue projects that result in scholarship related to community engagement.
Graduate Students: Everything you need to know about the Library... but were afraid to ask!
by Library Instruction Programs - Last Updated Jun 12, 2014
Library Orientation for Grad Students & Post Docs
Grants Resources
by Rebecca Jackson - Last Updated Apr 2, 2014
Guide to Using Lexis Nexis Academic
by Tobie Matava - Last Updated Jun 11, 2014
Laboratory Protocols & Methods
by Heather Lewin - Last Updated Jan 9, 2014
A guide to help users discover laboratory techniques and methods for research the life sciences and food science.
NIH Public Access Policy
by Scholarly Communications Librarians - Last Updated Jan 24, 2014
Information and resources to help researchers comply with the NIH Public Access Policy.
Online (Electronic) Encyclopedias
by Rebecca Jackson - Last Updated Feb 4, 2014
Check this guide to find encyclopedias that are online. Some are general encyclopedias; some are specialized, focused on specific subject areas.
Open Access
by Scholarly Communications Librarians - Last Updated Feb 11, 2014
This guide offers an overview of open access publishing. Audience: Faculty, grad students, & librarians.
Promotion & Tenure Resource Guide
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Jun 6, 2014
This guide is intended to provide resources useful to individuals who need to evaluate research and its impact. It includes journal acceptance rates, citation analysis, impact factors, journal rankings, creating publication lists, etc.
Research Methodologies Guide
by Rebecca Jackson - Last Updated May 30, 2014
A collection of resources describing research methods in the social sciences and the humanities
Technical Reports Research Guide
by Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Jun 18, 2014
This guide provides links to a wide variety of databases/websites containing technical reports.
Tutorials & Workshops
by Library Instruction Programs, Lorrie Pellack - Last Updated Jun 3, 2014
Guide to database tutorials, workshops, and training sessions - live and recorded.
Understanding Copyright: Information Literacy Guide
by Susan Vega Garcia - Last Updated Jun 10, 2014
Learn copyright basics; learn best practices for avoiding copyright infringement
Understanding Plagiarism: Information Literacy Guide
by Susan Vega Garcia - Last Updated May 28, 2014
Learn what plagiarism is and how it happens; learn best practices for avoiding plagiarism
Webpage Design and Content Management: Information Literacy
by Norma J Dowell - Last Updated Nov 7, 2013
Useful tools for developing content on the Web.
Writing Help: Grammar, Punctuation, and Usage
by Rebecca Jackson - Last Updated Aug 28, 2013
If you've forgotten when you need to use further instead of farther, whether or not to use a colon or a semicolon, or whether you have written a complete sentence or two, this guide should answer your questions.
 

Loading...
Arrow