Skip to main content

CI 601: Foundations of Educational Inquiry

"This course is intended to introduce first-year PhD students to scholarship in the field of education and initiate a process of reflexive inquiry so that students may engage in methodologically rigorous, substantively rich, and socially meaningful work i

Need it delivered?

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) & Document Delivery

This speedy delivery service provides a handy way for ISU students, faculty, and staff to have materials delivered to you.

Use the ILLiad online form to request articles, books & other items be delivered to you. Use your ISUNetID (not Library Borrower ID & password) to login to the online request form!

Speedy Delivery

Quick Search How-To


Think of Quick Search as our library's catalog and more. It can help you find what we own or subscribe to. You can also use it to find journal articles because SOME of our article indexes have been connected to Quick Search.

Quick Search graphic

The black outlined area and the search box are Quick Search, while the other tabs lead to other resources. The graphic above shows the default Simple search interface of Quick Search.  Notice how there are no controls here for specifying what kind of search you want. For researchers, I recommend you use Advanced Search in Quick Search - see the link just below the search box on the right.


Click the ADVANCED tab above in this tutorial to continue!

The Advanced Search interface of Quick Search gives you plenty of drop down choices and ways to focus your search.  You can add rows too.  

Quick Search - Advanced Search - Articles search

Vocabulary matters!

green starTo find articles using Quick Search, be sure to set the Material Type drop down to Articles.  

green starTo find out whether ISU Library subscribes to a particular journal, set Material Type to Journals.

Once you have results onscreen, you may need to focus further.

Use Tweak my results on your search results screen to narrow down for more relevance or to suit your parameters better - for example, by publication date, by specific topic(s), selecting peer reviewed articles only, and so on. 

QS - Tweak my results

Loading

USING INDEXES TO DISCOVER JOURNALS

We usually use article indexes and databases to find articles.  But you can flip that purpose and use indexes to identify journals that are publishing articles on topics similar to your own. This is especially useful if you are working in an interdisciplinary subject area. You might be familiar with journals in your main subject area, but maybe not the other subject(s).  Here are some tools and sites that will be helpful.

When you identify journals of interest, be sure to search Quick Search to see if we subscribe to those journals.  If we do, great! Just enter the journal and navigate to the volume-issue-pages you need. 

If we don't subscribe to the journal you're interested in, you can still access journal content by requesting articles of interest through Interlibrary Loan. (You can find articles of interest by using relevant indexes found on our Articles & Databases page.)


Working off-campus?  Be sure to sync Scholar with ISU Library collections! That way you'll connect seamlessly to content the ISU Library owns!  Here's how:

First, click the three-line "hamburger" icon and choose Scholar's Settings cog icon, then choose Library Links. Next, type in Iowa State University and choose specifically the ViewIt@ISU option.  Save, and you're done!

Google Scholar - Sync with ISU Library


Once you find an index in your subject area, search your topic. When you have relevant search results on screen, pay attention to the journals that are publishing these articles.This may help you widen your list of prospective journals, and you may learn of some relevant journals you hadn't known before.

Put together a list of these journals of interest, and investigate them further.

Loading

Your Librarian

Susan A. Vega García's picture
Susan A. Vega García
Contact:
Head of Instruction
Associate Professor
140 Parks Library
Iowa State University
Ames IA 50011
(515) 294-4052

Creative Commons Statement