Specifically: from their National American Women Suffrage Collection, 1848-1921; Votes for Women section.
Types of Sources - Primary Sources
What are primarysources?
a primary source (also called originalsource or evidence) is an artifact, a document, diary, manuscript, autobiography, a recording, or any other source of information that was created at the time under study.
APL subscribes to a version of Ancestry.com called Ancestry Library Edition. This database can only be searched at Ames Public Library. Ancestry includes US census and other vital records that can help you determine birth date / year, where your person lived during specific years, and sometimes data such as occupation, years of schooling, family members, and other information. The librarians on 2nd Floor of APL can help you get started with this helpful resource.
From the State Library of Iowa, this site is a finding aid to online digital collections from libraries across the state. You can browse sections like "People, Biographies" and "Societies, Organizations, Clubs," or use the Search box in the top right corner.
You can browse by Collections or use the Search box in the top right corner. You can definitely find information on the broader topic of women's suffrage in Iowa. If you are lucky, you may also find information on your assigned person.
From the Iowa Women's Archives at the University of Iowa, and the Digital State Archives of Iowa.
This interactive exhibit provides interesting background information on women's suffrage in Iowa, organized by years.
Housed at Catt Hall, this is a growing collection of speeches, political ads, and other information related to women in politics. The search function is located on the page's top red banner, in the right corner.
From Project Gutenberg, this digitized volume includes suffrage information by state. You may be able to find your person mentioned here. Use control F on your keyboard and type your person's name to check for any mention.
SHSI may have unique materials that have not yet been digitized. You may want to use the "Contact Us" link on their page to email them to see if they might have information on your assigned individual.