Skip to main content

HD FS 449: Program Evaluation and Proposal Writing

Searching more than one database at a time

Because several of the databases you might want to search come from the same vendor, it is possible to search them together.  The databases on the list to the right that can be searched together are:

Child Development & Adolescent Studies
ERIC
Family and Society Studies Worldwide
Family Studies Abstracts

To search more than one of these databases:

  • Click on on of them in the list to the right..
  • Above the search box, click on Choose Databases.
  • There is a long list of databases to choose from; click on the ones you want to search.
  • Click on OK at the top of the list.

Each of the results from your search will include the name of the database from which it came.

Databases & Indexes at ISU

Databases & Indexes at ISU

Article Quick Guide

If you know the specific article to find, a good starting point is the e-Journals List. Search for the title of your journal and if there's full text you can either search for a specific article or browse issues.

When you're looking for articles on a specific topic, you're better off using a subject database like PsychINFO to search for a topic. Once you have a list of articles you can view the full-text if it's available. If there isn't full-text available in the database you've searched, click on the Get it @ ISU button to see if there's electronic access to your article. If there is, you can go directly to the article. If the article isn't available there will be links to the ISU library catalog and Interlibrary Loan.

Most Popular HDFS Databases

PsycARTICLES is included in  PsycINFO.  PsycARTICLES includes the full text of all the journals published by the American Psychological Association (not all the journals indexes in PsycINFO).

Relevant Library Guides

Background Information

The first step in researching your topic is doing some background research. The sources below are good places to start:

Creative Commons Statement