Skip to main content

M E 324: Manufacturing Engineering

Guide for students enrolled in ME324: Manufacturing Engineering.

Find Books with Quick Search

Quick Search will find both ebooks and books available for checkout at the ISU Library.

ISU Library Quick Search
Find Books & More (ISU Collections)

On the results screen you can use Filters (on the right) to further refine your search. Look for the Format Type filter category and select Books to limit the results to books only. This search box automatically applies a "books and more" filter to your results, so you will need to use the Books filter to limit your results.

You can find additional manufacturing processes books by using Quick Search's Advanced Search. Copying and pasting one of the following subjects into the search box on the library homepage and setting the any field drop-down box to subject will limit your results to items containing those terms as the subject. Adding " -- Handbooks, manuals, etc" (see the example with Manufacturing processes below) onto the end restricts your search to handbooks, manuals, and other reference books. This can be useful for getting a broad overview of a particular technology, process, or material.

These are only examples. You may come across other useful subject headings in your searching.

  • Manufacturing processes
  • Manufacturing processes -- Handbooks, manuals, etc
  • Machining
  • Metal castings
  • Three-dimensional printing
  • Welding

Many of our books and handbooks are available online. However, others are only in print. For instructions on what to do if the book you need is checked out or not available, see below for information on Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Suggested handbooks in print

Following are some examples of handbooks that may be useful for your research. You may need to consult more than one handbook to find the information you need.

Find handbooks online

You can find many engineering and manufacturing handbooks by using the ISU library's Quick Search. Others are best found by searching relevant e-book collections or databases. Below are a few to get you started.

Need a book the ISU Library doesn't have?

Use InterLibrary Loan (ILL) to order a book from another library. It's free but it does take a couple of days for the book to arrive.

How to Place an ILL Request

  1. Search for the book you want to order in WorldCat.
  2. Click the title of the book you want to order to open the record for that book.

On Campus

  • Click the Illiad link in the green-bordered "Iowa State Univ network" box.
  • Login to Illiad (ISU Library’s ILL system) with your net-ID and password to complete your request.
  • Click Submit Request to complete the process. You'll get an email when the book is ready for pickup.

Off-Campus

  1. In a new window, log into Illiad (ISU Library’s ILL system) with your net-ID and password to complete your request.
  2. In the left menu click Book under the New Request menu.
  3. Fill out as much as the form as possible (consult the Worldcat record you opened in step 2).
  4. Click Submit Request to complete the process. You'll get an email when the book is ready for pickup.
Erin Thomas's picture
Erin Thomas
Contact:
150 Parks Library
Iowa State University
515 294-9886

Creative Commons Statement