Skip to main content

Iowa Crop Variety Test Publications Guide

This guide provides direct links and pointers for locating variety trials (or performance tests) for specific field crops in Iowa, both past and present. It also provides locations and call numbers for the ISU Library.

 

Wheat and triticale variety yield tests for Iowa were released in a wide variety of publications (with some gaps and overlap):

Years

Series & Number

Call number & Location

1889

“Experiment Station Wheat and Oats in 1889.” Bulletin (Iowa Agricultural Experiment Station), no.6 – Aug 1889, pp. 199-203.

S542 Io9b – Archives, Library Storage Building, and Media Center all have copies

1891-1892

“Winter Wheat.”  Bulletin (Iowa Agricultural Experiment Station), no.15 and 19 

S542 Io9b – Archives, Library Storage Building, and Media Center all have copies

1894-1895

“Experimental Crop Notes,” Bulletin (Iowa Agricultural Experiment Station), no. 27 and 32.

S542 Io9b – Archives, Library Storage Building, and Media Center all have copies

1896

“Crop Notes,” Bulletin (Iowa Agricultural Experiment Station), no. 34

S542 Io9b – Archives, Library Storage Building, and Media Center all have copies

1900-1901

“Field Experiments,” Bulletin (Iowa Agricultural Experiment Station), no. 45 and 55

S542 Io9b – Archives, Library Storage Building, and Media Center all have copies

1900

“Winter Wheat, ” Bulletin (Iowa Agricultural Experiment Station), no. 51

S542 Io9b – Archives, Library Storage Building, and Media Center all have copies

1904

“Field Experiments,” The Iowa Agriculturist, v. 4, no. 4, 1904, pp. 158-160. (includes fall wheat)

S1 Io83 – Parks Library General Collection, Archives, and Media Center all have copies

1906-1910

“Winter Wheat Growing in Iowa,” Bulletin (Iowa Agricultural Experiment Station), no. 133

S542 Io9b – Archives, Library Storage Building, and Media Center all have copies

1910-1929

Robinson, Joe L. New Crop Varieties on Iowa Farms.  Typed manuscript. Circa 1929. 

RS 9/9/3, Box 30 - Archives

1919, 1924

“Distribution of the Classes and Varieties of Wheat in the United States.” USDA Department Bulletin, no.1498, May 1929, Iowa wheat variety info on pp. 9-10.

S21 Un31s – Library Storage Building and online at:
https://archive.org/details/distributionofcl1498clar

1925-1934

“Flax as an Iowa Crop.” Bulletin (Iowa Agricultural Experiment Station), no. 344, Mar. 1936 – includes spring wheat

S542 Io9b – Archives, Library Storage Building, and Media Center all have copies

1931-1942

Leaflet F.C., no. 1-16

RS 9/9/3, Box 20 - Archives

1947-1962

Winter and Spring Wheat –
Agron. series – no. 224, 252, 286, 313, 353, 386, 417, 451, 483, 508, 561

S451 I8 A4x - Archives owns some, but not all of these

1962-1965

Wheat – AG series as AG-6-*

S451 I8 A4x – Archives

1962-1998

Wheat – AG series as AG-6-*

S451 I8 A4x – Archives

1993-1996, 1998-2008

Winter Wheat – AG-6

S451 I8 A4x – Archives

2002-2007

Winter Triticale – AG-6

S451 I8 A4x - Archives

2008

Wheat and Triticale – online in Iowa State Research Farm Progress Reports

http://lib.dr.iastate.edu/farms_reports/612/

Your Librarian

Lorrie Pellack's picture
Lorrie Pellack
Contact:
Head of Research Services
150 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
Phone: 515-294-5569

Creative Commons Statement