Skip to main content

Iowa Crop Variety Test Publications Guide

This guide provides direct links and pointers for locating variety trials (or performance tests) for specific field crops in Iowa, both past and present. It also provides locations and call numbers for the ISU Library.


Flax variety yield tests for Iowa were released in a wide variety of publications:

Years

Series & Number

Call number & Location

1921-1930

Leaflet F.C. no. 3, “Flax – a Crop for Iowa”

RS 9/9/3, Box 20 - Archives

 

1925-1934

“Flax as an Iowa Crop,” Bulletin (Iowa Agricultural Experiment Station), no. 344

S542 Io9b – Archives, Library Storage Building, and Media Center (on microfilm)

1931-1943

Burnett, L.C. and I.J. Johnson.  “Flax Growing in Iowa.”  IN Flax Facts: “Encyclopedia of Information” on Flaxseed Production, Commerce and Trade, Recommended Varieties, and Diseases of Flax in the United States, 2nd edition, 1944, pages IV.b.1-IV.b.3. 

SB253 .F619 – Parks Library General Collection

1945-1947

Reddy, Chas. S., L.C. Burnett and I.J. Johnson.  “Seed Treatment Variety and Dosage Tests on Flax in 1947.” IN Flax Facts: “Encyclopedia of Information” on Flaxseed Production, Commerce and Trade, Recommended Varieties, and Diseases of Flax in the United States, 2nd edition, 1944, pages IV.c.1-IV.c.3.

SB253 .F619 – Parks Library General Collection

1948-1960

were published (with flax) annually in the Agron. series - see no. 253, 418, 450, 484, 509, 656

S451 I8 A4x - Archives

(Archives is missing no. 418)

1960-1972

AG series as AG-7

S451 I8 A4x - Archives

Your Librarian

Lorrie Pellack's picture
Lorrie Pellack
Contact:
Head of Research Services
150 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
Phone: 515-294-5569

Creative Commons Statement