Skip to main content

Iowa Crop Variety Test Publications Guide

This guide provides direct links and pointers for locating variety trials (or performance tests) for specific field crops in Iowa, both past and present. It also provides locations and call numbers for the ISU Library.


Published reports of barley variety experiments at the Iowa Agricultural Experiment Station are available for 1892-2007 with some gaps and overlap:

Years

Series & Number

Call number & Location

1892

“Crop Report of the Farm Department.”  Bulletin (Iowa Agricultural Experiment Station), no. 16, Feb. 1892, pp. 303-308. Includes barley and several other crops.

S542 Io9b – Archives, Library Storage Building, and Media Center (on microfilm)

1900

“Field Experiments,” Bulletin (Iowa Agricultural Experiment Station), no.45, Feb. 1900, pp. 216-229.

S542 Io9b – Archives, Library Storage Building, and Media Center (on microfilm)

1911

Knobbs. W.J. Cooperative Experiments. M.S. thesis, Iowa State College, 1922.

SB186 K75c - Storage Building and

C O 1922 Knobbs - Archives

1913-1923

Circular (Iowa Agricultural Experiment Station), no. 48 and no. 109. 

S542 Io9c – Archives, Library Storage Building and Media Center (on microfilm).

1916-1938

Thurman, Floyd. Field Crop Tests on Iowa Farms. M.S. thesis, Iowa State College, 1940.

SB186 T425f - Storage Building and

C O 1940 Thurman - Archives

1925-1934

see Bulletin (Iowa Agricultural Experiment Station), no. 344

S542 Io9b – Archives, Library Storage Building, and Media Center (on microfilm).

1932-1941

see USDA Technical Bulletin, no. 735 and no. 881.    

S21 Un31s - Library Storage Building

1931-1943

see “Standard Community Grain Trials”, Leaflet F.C. 

RS 9/9/3, Box 20 - Archives

1946-1964

were published (with flax) annually in the Agron. series - see no. 253, 418, 450, 484, 509, 656

S451 I8 A4x - Archives

(Archives missing no. 418)

1965-1974

were published (with flax) annually in the AG series as AG-7

S451 I8 A4x - Archives

1974-1993

were published (with wheat) annually in AG series as AG-6.

S451 I8 A4x - Archives

1991-2008

were published (with oats) annually in the Pm series as PM-1645.

S544.3 I8 P35x - Archives

2005-2008

See Northwest Research and Demonstration Farm Reports

online

Your Librarian

Lorrie Pellack's picture
Lorrie Pellack
Contact:
Head of Research Services
150 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
Phone: 515-294-5569

Creative Commons Statement