Skip to main content

Iowa Crop Variety Test Publications Guide

This guide provides direct links and pointers for locating variety trials (or performance tests) for specific field crops in Iowa, both past and present. It also provides locations and call numbers for the ISU Library.


Reports from individual Iowa corn yield tests have been published in a wide variety of places including different Iowa Agricultural Experiment Station and Iowa Agricultural Extension series over the years.  Note: in some years, reports were reprinted or co-published in multiple places.
 

Years

Series & Number

Call number & Location

1892

1895

1896

Bulletin (Iowa Agricultural Experiment Station) - no. 16, 32, 34.  These were annual “crop reports” and covered all crops planted that year.

S542 Io9b – Archives, Library Storage Building, and Media Center (on microfilm).

1904-1911

see book called Early Iowa Corn Yield Tests and Later Related Programs and supplement.

SB191.C8 M85e

SB191 .C8 M85es Suppl.

Book available in Archives, General Collection & Storage; supplement only available in Archives.

1909-1915

see Demonstration Farm Reports

RS 16/03/00/27 – Archives and Media Center (on microfilm)

1920, 1921, 1922

Iowa Corn Yield Test

SB191 C8 Io87i – Archives and Library Storage Building have copies

1923-1967

separate reports named Iowa Corn Yield Test Results for [year]

SB191 C8 Io87i – Archives and Library Storage Building have copies

1935-1938

Bulletin (Iowa Agricultural Experiment Station) - no. 343, 355, 370, 379

S542 Io9b - Archives, Library Storage Building, and Media Center all have copies

1939-1968

Bulletin P - no. 2, 19, 38, 51, 58, 71, 79, 84, 87, 97, 103, 110, 112, 115-116, 118, 120, 123-124, 126, 128-130, 134-138

S542 Io9bp – Archives, Library Storage Building, and Media Center all have copies

1969

Pamphlet series as Pm-449 

S544.3 I8 P35x - Archives

1970-1985

co-published as part of the Miscellaneous Bulletin series as well as Pm-481, 494, 523, 548, 580, 603, and 660. 

Misc Bull = S541.5 I8 I521x

Pm = S544.3 I8 P35x - Archives

1986-1998

published only within the Pamphlet series as Pm-660

S544.3 I8 P35x - Archives

1999-2005

Pamphlet series as Pm-660

S544.3 I8 P35x – Archives

2006-present

Iowa Crop Performance Tests - Corn

online

 

Most of the corn yield test reports give a summary of recent year’s results, so even if the publication for a specific year is missing or unavailable, often the results can still be found by looking in a slightly newer test report.

Raw data from 1920-1951 tests are available for use in the Iowa State University Library, Special Collections and University Archives within the Iowa Crop Improvement Association Records and the George Allee Papers. These files give much more detail than the annual test reports provide, many are handwritten in pencil and have fold-out tables that are not amenable to scanning or digitizing.  The raw data also provides lists of farmers, their county, and varieties.  The amount of detail available varies for each year, for example: 1920-1923 includes yields per row and varieties submitted by each farmer; 1924 gives 3-year averages for entrants that participated from 1922-1924; 1927 was the first year to give a comparison of open-pollinated and hybrid yields; 1929 provides dates for planting and harvesting as well as moisture content. 

Types of information - a chart showing information that was recorded for each year of the ICYT is available in The Story of the Iowa Crop Improvement Association and Its Predecessors, by Robinson & Knott, 1963, on pp. 88-89.  Call number: SB21 Io8r

Your Librarian

Lorrie Pellack's picture
Lorrie Pellack
Contact:
Head of Research Services
150 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
Phone: 515-294-5569

Creative Commons Statement