Skip to main content

Special Collections and University Archives National History Day Guide

This guide is for students and teachers who are interested in using our collections for their National History Day Project.

Digital Collections

Iowa State University Digital Collections

Our Digital Collections feature items from many parts of our collection.  Sources include photographs, historical diaries, and even audio from the Women in Science in Engineering oral history collection.

Here are a few collections highlights:

Jack Trice

Women in Science and Engineering

George Washington Carver

 

Online Exhibits

Online Exhibits

Online Exhibits are a great place to start your research and get topic ideas.  The digitized images and documents found in the exhibits can all be viewed by visiting Special Collections.

Digital Repository

Digital Repository The Digital Repository can be a great place to find both primary and secondary sources.  There you will find:

 

Contact us

Special Collections & University Archives's picture
Special Collections & University Archives
Contact:
403 Parks Library
701 Morrill Road
Iowa State University Library
Ames, IA 50011
515 294-6672
Website / Blog Page

Contact us before you visit!

You will get access to the materials much faster if you contact the archives in advance. Here's why:

  • Off-site collections: Some of our collections are stored off site and staff will need time to retrieve them. We ask for 2 business days advance notice.
  • Related materials: Even if you have something specific you want to see (and know how to request it), we may have suggestions for other materials.
  • Check the holdings: As with most archives, many of our collections don't have detailed descriptions. If you're looking for a specific document or piece of information, contact the archives before making a trip so that you won't be disappointed if the collection doesn't have what you're looking for.
  • Research Help: We understand that using archives can be complicated. We know our collections and are truly happy to help!

Creative Commons Statement