Skip to main content

Human Sciences for ISU Extension Specialists

This guide provides information about human sciences resources available to ISU Extension Field Specialists.

Databases & Indexes at ISU

Modifying your search

If you come up with zero results:
-
check your typing/spelling
-use fewer terms
-try synonyms

- use broader terms

If you find a good article/book, look through the description to see if you can find better terms to use in your search, or look for other things by the same author(s).

Basic Databases (not subject-specific)

Databases listed here are basic tools useful for finding journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. The second page of this guide provides more in-depth databases for advance research in HDFS.

Search Tips

Phrases - to search for a phrase or multiple word concept, use quote marks around the words - e.g., "teen parents"

Truncation - use * near the end of a word to specify you want it to search for multiple endings for a word - e.g., parent* - will find parent, parents, parenting.
Be careful where you truncate as you could end up with unintended words - e.g, pare* will find pared in addition to the above words.

Combining concepts (a.k.a. Boolean Operators):
AND - requires EACH word to be in the results - e.g., teens and dating and violence
OR - will find ANY of the word(s) in the results - e.g., teen or teenager
NOT - will find results that do NOT include the word(s) - e.g, toddlersnot babies

You can also do fairly complex combinations using parentheses:
(parent or parents) and "teenage*"
- this will bring back results that contain the terms teenage, teenager, teenagers andEITHER parent or parents. If you truncate parent* you would get other possibly relevant results including parenting, parenthood, etc.

In some databases, the connectors need to be in UPPERCASE while in others they do not.

In Google searches:
use + before a word to indicate it MUST appear in the results
use - before a word to indicate it must NOT appear in the results
Google ASSUMES you want an AND in between words unless you specify otherwise.

Your Librarian

Lorrie Pellack's picture
Lorrie Pellack
Contact:
Head of Research Services
150 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
Phone: 515-294-5569

Want Live Help?

 

  Call 515-294-3642 during open hours, or leave a message.

Creative Commons Statement