Skip to main content

Psychology Research Guide

How to find books and more

There are many databases you can use to find books on your topic. Quick Search includes books that the library owns or has access to, so when you search it you can tell if we own the book you want. There are other places to look for books, but those books are not necessarily books that we own. Some of those sources are listed in a separate box. Remember that Quick Search includes both print and online books that the library owns.

Finding audio and visual materials

The library provides access to a wealth of streaming audio and visual materials that can help with teaching and learning psychology.  All are included in Quick Search.  Type your topic or keyword in the large Quick Search box.  In the first drop-down box under the search box, change the setting to Audio Visual.  If you want to look at only online materials (rather than materials on CD or DVD), after your search is complete, click on Full Text Online, right above your list of results.  

Other resources for finding books

Quick Search - Books & More

ISU Library Quick Search
Find Books & More (ISU Collections)

This is the same search box that you find on the library's home site. In this case, your search is limited to books, whether print or online.

To search for only online books in Quick Search, do a regular search for an author or keyword.  Then click the option for Full Text Online just above the listing of results.

Suggested terms to use in Quick Search:

  • Abnormal psychology
  • Animal/comparative psychology
  • Anxiety disorders
  • Child/developmental psychology
  • Cognition
  • Cognition in children
  • Cognitive neuroscience
  • Cognitive psychology
  • Depression
  • Developmental psychology
  • Eating disorders
  • Emotions
  • Evolutionary psycholog
  • Health psychology
  • Industrial/business psychology
  • Learning
  • Memory
  • Motivation
  • Neuropsychology
  • Personality
  • Psychobiology
  • Psycholinguistics
  • Psychological tests
  • Psychology, experimental
  • Psychology, social
  • Sensation/perception
  • Social psychology
  • Treatment/therapy

Interlibrary Loan

If the ISU Library does not have the book you are looking for, you can use our Interlibrary Loan service. ISU students, faculty, staff, associates, Library Visitor Cardholders, and others may request a wide range of materials that are not available in the ISU Library collections, including books, journal articles, newspaper microfilm, instruction-related audio-visual materials, dissertations and theses, etc. Click on the link above, enter your NetID and iastate.edu email password, and click on New Request on the left of the login page. If you are interested in getting books, click on Loan; if you want to get an articles ISU Library does not offer, click on Copy.

Creative Commons Statement