Provides abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as the philosophy of law, religion,and other areas.
Many of the articles included in this database are available in full-text format. Coverage dates back as far as 1940, with select articles going back as far as 1902.
A wonderful index of papers, books, and other documents. The library may subscribe to many of these journals online, but it is not possible to link to them from this database; you must do a journal search from the e-Library for the journal title name. There are many open access journals that are accessible through this index.
Other Useful Dataases
Following is a list of links to other indexes/abstracts that may have research on philosophy in various areas:
Covers materials from 1955 to present. A complementary database to America: History and Life. this index covers the whole range of worldwide history excluding North America. Many crossover history/philosophy journal articles can be find here.
JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now also includes books and primary sources, and current issues of journals.
Project MUSE was launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press, to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals via the world wide web. In 1999, MUSE published online 46 JHUP titles in the digital humanities and the social sciences.