Library Guides: Global Resource Systems Research Guide: Find Articles

Finding Articles

The ISU Library subscribes to many different article databases. The complete list is available under the Articles & Databases on the Library's website.

Article Indexes & Databases

Article Databases - General

Use a general database to locate articles about your research topic.

Key Features:

Because it covers many different academic subjects, recommend starting with this database first.
Link directly to the full-text of the article using the "Get it@ISU" button.
Mix of resources: scholarly and popular

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This database covers almost all subject areas and is especially good at interdisciplinary areas. Good place to start for class assignments. It contains full text articles for more than 6,500 journals.

Open Knowledge Repository (World Bank publications)
Search for publications produced by the World Bank. "The World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products."

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web is Science is interdisciplinary. The fundamental question which can be answered quickly by Web of Science is where and by whom has a particular paper been cited. If you have 1-2 journal articles that are perfectly on your topic - you can look them up in Web of Science to see who has cited them. If another researcher has cited these papers, then these additional papers are probably also on the same (or a similar) topic. It's a great way to find related articles.

Article Databases - Subject-based

Key Features:

There are many several specialized databasesavailable from the Library.
Content: scholarly research journals. Sometimes the database will also index books, conference papers, and other types of literature.

What "resource system" are you researching? There are databases that specialize in the following areas: agriculture, environment, biology, business and finance, education, and sociology. In addition to searching in Academic Search Premier, you might find it useful to search in one or more of the following:

CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database that covers: agriculture; animal and veterinary sciences; human health, food and nutrition; microbiology and parasitology; plant sciences. Includes many international publications. Coverage: 1910-present
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
ENVIRONMENT. SUSTAINABLE AGRICULTURE. "GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, and sustainable agriculture."
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
BUSINESS and FINANCE. ABI/Inform has been a premier source of business information for more than 30 years. The database contains content from 1000+ journals that help researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) - EBSCOhost Access This link opens in a new window
EDUCATION. The ERIC database, produced by the Education Resources Information Center, provides access to more than a million citations and abstracts of articles published in over 700 educational journals and thousands of reports
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
SOCIOLOGY. Sociological Abstracts provides access to citations and abstracts in sociology and related fields from 1952 to the present.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
MEDICINE/HEALTH. This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides over 22 million citations for biomedical and life sciences literature, including: biomedicine and health, behavioral sciences, bioengineering, biochemistry, genetics, molecular and cell biology.
PubMed tutorial
Food Science and Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations and abstracts dealing with all human food commodities and food processing. FSTA indexes articles, patents, standards, books, conference proceedings, research reports, dissertations, and legislation. Coverage: 1969 - present

News Databases

The following databases cover news sources rather than scholarly journals. If you are looking for introductory information to include in your research paper, consider finding a few newspaper articles to help you set the stage for your topic.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Providing access to a comprehensive collection of over 2,000 newspapers and news sources from around the world.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
This database provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources.
International newspaper coverage includes cover-to-cover full text for The Times (London), The Toronto Star, The Australian, and more. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more.

Lorrie Pellack

Email Me

Contact:

Head, Research & Instruction Services Dept.
150c Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140

Phone: 515-294-5569

Subjects: Criminal Justice, Environment & Sustainability, Faculty Resources, Food Science & Human Nutrition, Government Information, Nursing, Political Science, Research & Publication, Sociology