Skip to main content

Graduate Students: Everything you need to know about the Library... but were afraid to ask!

Library Orientation for Grad Students & Post Docs

FIRST THINGS FIRST - ACCESS!

Off-Campus Access?
   ISUCard

Your ISUCard serves as a photo ID and doubles as your ISU Library card for borrowing library materials and accessing online materials when you're off campus. 

To login from off-campus: Research anytime, anywhere! When you're off campus and attempt to access one of our subscription / paywalled resources, you will be prompted to login using the last 11 digits of the number on your ISUCard, and a Library password you set for this purpose.

DL Students: You may not have a physical ISUCard, but you do have an ISU University ID number (shown above). If you misplaced the number you were sent by Registrar staff, you can login to AccessPlus and verify your University ID number there. Use the last 11 digits of that number (meaning, the 9 digit University ID plus the following 2-digit Security Code) as your Off-Campus (Borrower ID) login.

QUICK LIST

WORKSHOP GOALS

Welcome!  

This Guide accompanies the "Graduate Students: Everything you Need to Know about the Library... but were afraid to ask!" Library workshop. The workshop goals are as follows:

  Learn about selected Library services, databases, and information available to support your graduate studies

  Learn who is YOUR subject librarian

  Give you introductory hands-on search experience with some of the databases

Friendly URL for this Guide: http://instr.iastate.libguides.com/grads

Purple Divider

We plan to record our Fall 2017 Workshop and link it here. We recommend you open one window for viewing / listening to the webinar, and another window for following along and getting hands-on practice with the indexes & resources we covered, linked here in this Guide!

WHAT WE CAN DO FOR YOU: IMPORTANT SERVICES

Here are just a few helpful Library resources & services that support graduate students and post docs in your research, teaching, and professional development.

Your Librarian!

Find your librarian here! We are your primary contacts to learn about library collections and research databases in your subject areas, instructional support for your classes, and reference services. Browse the list to find and contact your librarian today!

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) & Document Delivery

ILLiad is the name of our Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery service. This speedy delivery service provides a handy way for ISU students, faculty, and staff to have materials delivered to you. Use ILLiad's online form to request articles, books & other items be delivered to you. Use your ISU Net-ID and password to login to this online request form!

Ask Us!

IM, email, phone us! Your options for library assistance and questions, whether you're here in the library, in your office, or off-campus. Connect with knowledgeable Library staff!

WHAT IS "My Library Card" ?

The My Library Card link in the top right corner of our Library website leads to TWO different ways to login, neither of which is explained. Here's an explanation:


green star ISU Net-ID login: this one allows you to to see what you have checked out, renew items, save your searches, and so on.  Login using your ISU Net-ID and the same password you use for login to AccessPlus, Blackboard / Canvas, your ISU email, etc. 

green star The last 11-digits on your red ISUCard and your Library password: this method allows you to have off-campus access to our subscription ejournals, full-text articles, online indexes and databases, and so on. You may see this method called Borrower ID login. You'll also need to set a Library password for logging in this way.


We are working toward a single sign-in solution for all your Library needs.  We are not yet there - definitely stay tuned!

ISU Graduate College New Student Orientation, Fall 2017

The ISU Graduate College hosted their Fall 2017 New Graduate Student Orientation program on Aug. 24 from 5:30 to 7:30 pm CST.  Couldn't attend in person?  Watch & listen to the archived live stream here!  

Your Librarian

Library Instruction Programs's picture
Library Instruction Programs
Contact:
140 Parks Library
515-294-4052

Creative Commons Statement