Skip to main content
Iowa State University

Library

eNewspapers: Home

This Day in History

This information is available courtesy of the Infoplease web site.

Loading

Off-Campus Access

Most of our online indexes, ejournals, and full-text articles can be accessed off-campus using your ISU Borrower ID and password. See Set your Library password for more information.

Distance Learning students: Can't find your ISUCard number? Login to AccessPlus. Choose ISU IDs in the left sidebar to find your ISUCard number. Your Borrower ID is the last 11 digits of your ISU ID number. (Problems? Contact distance@iastate.edu). See also our DL Guide.

International Newsstand

Finding Newspapers

This guide provides information and links for accessing current and historical newspapers. This information is available in a variety of formats - online, in print, and on microfilm.

Current issues of many newspapers can be found in the Bookends Reading Room, located on the first floor of Parks Library.

Below is a list of quick links to some of the Indexes & Databases the University Library subscribes to:

Card Catalog & Indexes

Using the one remaining catalog card file is another way to locate older contents in the following local publications. This card catalog is located in the LCC on the short shelves near the Atlas stand. Take a look you never know what you might find.

Publications indexed in the card catalog:

Iowa State Publications

Iowa State Daily

Alumnus (LH 1 Io9a)

Iowa Agriculturalist (S1 Io9)

Iowa Engineer (TA1 Io9)

Iowa Homemaker (TX1 Io9)

Iowa State Scientist (Q1 Io05)

Faculty Newsletter (C M 16f)

Library at Iowa State (C CF I65L)

News of Iowa State
(C J N 41 1948+; C J N42 1938-44)

Summer Quarter News (LH1 Io9s)

Local Newspapers

Ames Tribune - in card file, interfiled with the Des Moines Register (~1955-1975)

Des Moines Register - in card file, interfiled with Ames Tribune (~1955-1975)

  • also found in printed index volumes on bookcase near card file (June 1975-June 1987)
  • 1986-1991 on microfiche (in Media Center)
  • 1991-2001 - Des Moines Public Library Online Indexes
  • 2001 - present via Proquest

Iowa State Daily

  • in card index (~1924-1978)
  • in printed index volumes on bookcase near card file(Sept. 1978-Jul7 1995)
  • Online via Iowa State Daily archive search (1995-present)

Quick Search - ISU Library

ISU Library Quick Search
Find Books & More