Library Guides: Promotion & Tenure Resource Guide: Creating Reports

Available Reports

Google Scholar Citations
Free, but registration required. Fast and easy way to make a list of your publications (via Google Scholar), edit the list by merging duplicate records and manually add records not found by Google Scholar. This will auto-generate graphs for times cited within Google Scholar, h-index, i-10 index, times cited in the last 6 years, etc. It also allows you to report bibliographic errors.

To register for the first time - simply go to Google Scholar Citations and click on create a new account (in upper right corner). Once you have registered, follow the directions to locate your publications in Google Scholar and pull them into your profile.

Note: Be sure to check the box to make the profile PUBLIC. This will enable researchers to click on your name in the search results and view your Google Scholar Profile and find/view your other publications.

If you already have a Google account, simply sign in and then look in the upper right hand corner of the screen for "My Citations."

Export options from Citation Profiles include as a BibTeX file, downloaded to EndNote, Excel (as a CSV file), RefMan, or converted to a PDF.

You can also choose to be notified by email every time Google Scholar finds a new citation to one of your publications.

There is not just one single "reports" feature for generating scholarly impact graphs within Scopus. Check out some of the following and see if they meet your needs. If none of these give you the look you were hoping for, you can always use your Internet browser to "save as" an HTML file or use a snipping tool or screen capture tool.

Citation Overview is available from all search results screens (can run this for any list of records whether it be for a particular author or a collection of results on a topic). Simply mark all records you want to include and then click on “citation overview” at the top of the results list. If running a citation overview for an author – this feature will also allow you to eliminate self-citations from the report. The citation tracker data is exported in CSV file format that can be opened in MS Excel.

View h-graph is a link from the Citation Overview screen. Within the h-graph page – click on Documents to view pie charts of the records. This will allow viewing charts that analyze journal titles, document types, years, subject areas and co-authors of the records in the set. The graphs are printable and can be exported as a zip file. Citations tab will allow viewing a graph of citations per year for an author’s published works.

Analyze Results – this feature can be run from all search results screens. See sample Analyze Results page. If searching for a specific topic area(s), this report is useful for viewing graphs and raw data showing which:

- Authors have the most publications on the topic(s)
- Author affiliations/institutions are publishing the most
- Journals are publishing the most articles on the topic(s)
- Years articles have been published on the topic(s)

PlumX statistics are available for individual articles. Click on any article title to view the document details screen. Metrics are near the bottom of the page - scroll down to view more. Also, note the link to "View All Metrics" at the top right corner of the page will bring up a much more detailed page of almetrics. E.g., https://www.scopus.com/record/pubmetrics.uri?eid=2-s2.0-84876559339&origin=recordpage

Altmetrics can be linked to, but they cannot be exported, downloaded, or copied/pasted.

Readership Statistics cannot be exported, linked, or downloaded – but they can be copied/pasted.

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science Core Collection offers the ability to generate an on-the-fly citation report for any set of results you can create. This can be done for publications by a specific author, articles in a specific journal(s), anything published from authors in a specific academic department, or even for all articles authored by researchers in a specific zip code.

Author Name Searches & Creating Citation Reports in WoS
This is particularly useful for locating publications for authors with fairly common names and/or who have authored publications while at multiple institutions.
Specialized Citation Reports in Web of Science
Short 2 page document with step-by-step instructions for creating citation reports for specific journals as well as for academic departments at ISU or elsewhere.
WoS Core - Citation Report example (Bain Carmen)

WoS Author Name help sheet
Provides detailed guidelines for searching for author names with special characters.

Saving/Exporting: Export options are available in the upper right corner of the Results and Author Record pages. This will allow you to save the report as a .TXT file or an Excel file.

Web of Science, Scopus, and Google Scholar all offer the ability to generate an author's citation summary, including h-index and a number of other citation metrics. Click on the tabs for each specific database (above this box) to see how.

If you wish to manually generate your own h-index, especially if many of your publications are not included in one of the above databases, see the link below for more details.

How to Calculate an h-index Manually

WorldCat Identities
a free website that collects information about book authors and shows aggregated information about the author, their works, and a profile of library holdings worldwide.It can provide a nice at-a-glance summary for an author. WorldCat data is available for authors who have published in the U.S. and is very good at including information on books from "major" publishers. Books published by small presses outside the U.S.are less likely to be included.

Publish or Perish
This is free, downloadable software that is available for individual, non-profit use. The results are available on-screen and can also be copied to the Windows clipboard (for pasting into other applications) or saved to a text file (for future reference or further analysis). The data is extracted from Google Scholar by default and not only provides a list of publications with citation counts and access to those works, but also includes statistical data including the h-index. Supports Author Impact and also Journal Impact search and analysis.
ResearcherID (now Publons)
Free but requires registration. Created by the publisher of the Web of Science and now integrated with Publons. It allows each author to set up a unique profile and list/link to publications that they have written. It pulls article citation information from the Web of Science but authors can also add information on publications that are NOT found in the Web of Science. You cannot "add" citation information to references that are not found in the Web of Science database.
Scholarometer
Created at Indiana University in 2009. This is a free browser extension (for Firefox or Chrome users) that provides a smart interface for Google Scholar. It is a social application with tagging functionality. It allows filtering, sorting, deleting and live search to compute impact measures. One of the few programs that offers the ability to generate a "universal" h-index for an author, in addition to the g-index, h-index, and Schreiber's hm-index.

Many online journals now provide usage information on the landing page for each article they publish. This can be number of page views or number of times the article was downloaded. The location on the page varies but is usually at the top or on the right side.

If you have published a journal article that is available online but does not provide this information on the page, check with the editor to see if they can provide you with a report of download or page hits for your article. Some editors can also provide information on what the average number of downloads is for a specific journal that you can then compare to your article(s). While usage data is not the same as citation data, it can be an indication of usefulness to other scholars.