Library Guides: Linguistics Research Guide: Resources for Finding Articles

Print Resources

These print reference resources will help you to locate scholarly articles relating to Linguistics:

Bibliographie Linguistique / Linguistic Bibliography (REF P30 P4)
The Year's Work in Modern Language Studies (REF PB1 Y33)*

*This series has chapters on all world languages, and in each chapter there is a section that covers linguistics. It is available online (look it up in QuickSearch), save the most recent four years which are only available in print.

Key Databases for Finding Articles

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts and, in many cases, the full text of articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 journals, and also provides abstracts of books and book chapters.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This database covers almost all subject areas and is especially good at interdisciplinary areas. Good place to start for class assignments. It contains full text articles for more than 6,500 journals.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography provides access to bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations in academic disciplines such as: language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, rhetoric and professional communication, and the dramatic arts. Many of the citations to journal articles included in this database are available in full-text format.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. It includes digitized current and back issues of academic journals, books and primary source materials.

Your Librarian

Dan Coffey

Email Me

Contact:

152 Parks Library

515.294.3672

Subjects: English, Speech & Rhetoric, Linguistics, Music & Theatre, Philosophy & Religion

Guides for Other Areas of Study within English

This is the list of guides provided by the ISU Library for the various topics taught in the Iowa State University's English Department.