The library's collections include letters, diaries, and other personal papers of women and families; records of women's organizations; books about women; cookbooks; women's periodicals; photographs; videotapes; and oral histories. The library provides research grants and sponsors exhibitions and other public programs. Materials do not circulate, but the library is open to all, free of charge.
A fully searchable version of the Library of Congress guide for the study of women's history and culture, links to digitized material, illustrations, and information on doing on-site research at the Library of Congress.
A collection of materials related to the study of women and gender in the ancient world, including syllabi for courses on women in antiquity; bibliographies; links to articles, electronic reviews, and images.
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Home page for the National Women's History Project offers a wealth of Web resources related to women in respect to the roles they have played in history. Site offers access to several organizations and institutions devoted to promoting the importance of the contributions which women have made.
Contains the writings of over 125 women – Sappho, Clare of Assisi, Ban Zhao, Juana de la Cruz, Akazome Emon, Antal, and Hrotsvit, to name a few. Covers literature from approximately 2200 B.C.E. to the 1700s A.D.
A collection of documents and original articles on people, organizations, and topics pertaining to the women's movement in and around the 19th century in the United States. Articles include hyperlinks to other sections of the encyclopedia.
A collection of documents and original articles on people, organizations, and topics pertaining to the women's movement in and around the 19th century in Great Britain. Articles include hyperlinks to other sections of the encyclopedia.
A current bibliography of articles on women's history and gender published in historical and women's studies journals Articles published in English, French, German and Dutch are selected from more than eighty European, American and Indian journals.