Skip to main content

Technical Reports Research Guide

This guide provides links to a wide variety of databases/websites containing technical reports.

Tech Reports in Microfiche

Technical papers of these engineering societies are available on microfiche in the Media Center in the Parks Library at ISU:

ASAE/ASABE (American Society of Agricultural Engineers and American Society of Agricultural & Biological Engineers)

Canadian Society of Agricultural Engineering

SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers)

SME (Society of Manufacturing Engineers)

ASAE — American Society of Agricultural Engineers
ASABE -- American Society of Agricultural & Biological Engineers
 
Paper
  • Call no.: S671 A45 microfiche (Media Center)
  • Holdings: 1968-2003; microforms is missing a few miscellaneous papers
  • Request by: Call number and paper number
     
  • ASABE Technical Library (has full text online from 2001-present)
     

If you are looking for an ASAE/ASABE Paper but do not know the "paper number" - check one of the following sources:

  • Combined Index to Agricultural Engineering, Transactions of the A.S.A.E., A.S.A.E. Conference Proceedings
    • Location: REFERENCE COLLECTION (Tier 2)
    • Call no.: S671 A451
    • Holdings: 1968-1970
  • Comprehensive Index of A.S.A.E. Publications
    • Location: REFERENCE COLLECTION (Tier 2)
    • Call no.: S671 A452
    • Holdings: 1971-1984
  • Comprehensive Index of Publications
    • Location: REFERENCE COLLECTION (Tier 2)
    • Call no.: S671 A4521
    • Holdings: 1985-1996
  • ASAE Papers from International Meetings
    • Location: Media Center: Reference
    • Call no.: S671 A45 index
    • Holdings: 1973-1995
  • CAB Abstracts (Centre for Agriculture and Biosciences)
    • Holdings: 1910-present
Canadian Society of Agricultural Engineering

Paper

Call no.: S671 C36x microfiche (Media Center)

Holdings: 1976-1993; 1995-1997

Request by: Call number and paper number
 

If you are looking for a Paper but do not know the "paper number" - check one of the following sources:

  • Paper (Canadian Society of Agricultural Engineering)
    Location: Media Center: Reference
    Call no.: S671 C36x index
    Holdings: 1976-1983
    Index is not available for 1979. 1979 Annual Conference held in conjunction with A.S.A.E.; the 1979 papers available through: Paper (American Society of Agricultural Engineers)
     
  • Paper (Canadian Society of Agricultural Engineering)
    Location: Media Center: Microform Collection
    Call no.: S671 C36x microfiche
    Holdings: 1983-1993; 1995-1997; indexes are available on microfiche
SAE = Society of Automotive Engineers
 
SAE Technical Paper Series

Call no.: TL1 So13m microfiche (Media Center)
Holdings: 1969-2004; microforms lacks miscellaneous numbers
 

If you are looking for an SAE Paper but do not know the "paper number" - check one of the following sources:

Cumulative Index of S.A.E. Technical Papers
Location: REFERENCE COLLECTION
Call no.: TL1 S64
Holdings: 1906-1993

Annual Index/Abstracts of SAE Technical Papers
Location: REFERENCE COLLECTION
Call no.: TL1 So13t3
Holdings: 1994-2004

see also http://www.sae.org

Continued by: SAE Technical Papers on CD-ROM [electronic resource]
Location: Media Center: Media Collection
Call no: CDRM S00 290
Holdings: 2005 –2005 only

Some SAE papers are also reprinted in the SAE Handbook – scattered years from 1937-2005 are available in the General Collection at TL151 S1.
 

SAE Transactions
(also works to locate SAE Special Publications)

Location: LIBRARY STORAGE BUILDING
Call no.: TL1 So13t
Holdings: v.5-95; 1910-1986

"Selected" transactions are published within the serial title: “S.A.E. Technical Paper Series.”
To locate:

  1. Search for the author in “Cumulative Index of S.A.E. Technical Papers” listed in the above indexes
  2. If found, write down the technical paper number (e.g., 901316) which may be located in the Media Center
  3. If not found, and the transaction is not part of the collection in Library Storage, request through Interlibrary Loan

SME — Society of Manufacturing Engineers

Technical Paper
  • Call no.: TS176 T43x microfiche (Media Center)
    Holdings: 1978-
    •  

To search through papers in this series - use Compendex

  •  
Loading

Creative Commons Statement