Skip to main content

Alumni & Community Research Resources

This guide is intended to alert ISU alumni and the general public to research resources that are available to them from the ISU Libraries - both remotely and on-campus.

Alumni Access to Ebsco Database

Using Journal Article Databases

Researchers are welcome to come into the library and use ANY of our journal article databases free on-site. Remote access is, unfortunately, limited to free journal databases unless the researcher is a current ISU faculty, staff, or student. Keep in mind that these indexes usually provide information about articles that have been published, but not all articles have full-text available online.

Our most popular free journal indexes include

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar indexes articles from a number of types of magazines and journals. Some include links to full-text articles; some do not. Google Scholar is, though, the closest thing to a general database for searching for articles that is available free on the Internet.

Google Scholar: Try it here!

Search Tips

To export results, use Scholar Preferences to export 1 record at a time.
To export multiple records mark the ones you like. (Note that you will need to sign in using a gmail account to save items to My Library.) When you are ready to export, click on My Library, check the box(es) to indicate which one(s) you want to export then click on the Export icon above the list of references.

Your Librarian

Lorrie Pellack's picture
Lorrie Pellack
Contact:
Head of Research Services
150 Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
Phone: 515-294-5569

Creative Commons Statement