Library Guides: JL MC 201 & JL MC 302: Other News Related Sites

Additional Sources for National & International Newspapers

World-Newspapers.com
This is a robust compendium of newspapers from around the globe. The website has been mentioned as "the best free reference website" by Reference and User Services Association (RUSA). All newspapers listed are in English.
Newspapermap.com
This interactive map will help you locate more than 10,000 newspapers from around the world. Color coded by language the map provides a link to each publication. You can choose to read the content in it's original language or have Google translator deliver the content in English.
50states.com
A good source for finding newspapers from all the 50 states in continental USA. The states and their corresponding newspapers are arranged alphabetically.
NewsLink
A helpful tool for finding newspapers, magazines, TV/Radio channels and others. Sorted by state, national and type categories, among others.
ABYZ News Link
A great gateway to newspapers from across the globe.

Other News Related Sources

Stars and Stripes
"Provides independent news and information to the U.S. military community, including active-duty servicemembers, DoD civilians, veterans, contractors, and their families"
Grist: Climate. Justice. Solutions
An American "nonprofit news site focused on environmental news and commentary."
The War Horse
A non-profit online newsroom focused on military service.
Roll Call - Covering Capital Hill
"A newspaper and website published in Washington, D.C when the US Congress is in session. It reports news of legislative and political maneuverings on Capitol Hill, as well as political coverage of congressional elections across the country."
The Western Journal
A popular conservative news and political website based in Phoenix, Arizona.
The Nation
"A progressive American monthly magazine that covers political and cultural news, opinion, and analysis. Founded on July 6, 1865"
Rest of The World
"....challenges expectations about whose experiences with technology matter. We connect the dots across a rapidly evolving digital world, through on-the-ground reporting in places typically overlooked and underestimated."
Vox.com
A free online media platform whose journalists seek to "provide context" to unfolding news using "explanatory journalism" model.
The Hill
The Hill is an American news website, based in Washington, D.C. which began as a newspaper publisher in 1994. It describes itself as "nonpartisan" and its coverage includes the U.S Congress, the Presidency and election campaigns.
Military Times
An independent newspaper "serving all branches of the U.S. military, the global defense community, the U.S. federal government, and several special interest, defense-oriented industry sectors."
Jezebel
"... a US-based website featuring news and cultural commentary geared towards women....launched in 2007....as a feminist counterpoint to traditional women's magazines"
National Review
"A semi-monthly conservative editorial magazine focusing on news and commentary pieces on political, social, and cultural affairs"
Air Force Times
"Provides active, reserve and retired United States Air Force and Air National Guard personnel and their families with news, information, analysis, community and lifestyle features, educational supplements, and resource guides."
Mother Jones (MJ)
"Mother Jones was founded as a nonprofit in 1976 because we knew corporations and the wealthy wouldn't fund the type of hard-hitting journalism we set out to do"
Black Information Network (BIN)
".... an all-news radio network of stations targeting the African American community, carrying mostly important national news headline stories as well as current events and special interest features"
HuffPost.com
A left-leaning American news aggregator and blog, with localized and international editions.
The New Republic
A left-leaning American magazine that focuses on politics and the arts. Articles accessible through the library as plain text. Its website is: https://newrepublic.com/
SciCentral
Bringing science news to the public.
The Intercept_
"The Intercept is a news organization dedicated to holding the powerful accountable through fearless, adversarial journalism. Its in-depth investigations and unflinching analysis focus on politics, war, surveillance, corruption, the environment, technology, criminal justice, the media, and more."
The American Conservative
"The American Conservative is a magazine published by the American Ideas Institute which was founded in 2002"
Daily News
"The New York Daily News, officially titled the Daily News, is an American newspaper based in New York City. Founded in 1919 as an imitation of the British Daily Mirror, it was the first U.S. daily printed in tabloid format."
Global Post (Public Radio International)
"Provides original international reporting rooted in integrity, accuracy, independence and powerful storytelling"
The Sporting News
Comprehensive facts and stats on teams and leagues for various sports.
New York Post
A conservative daily newspaper in New York.
WorldNet Daily (WND)
This is a free Christian-Conservative publication. It was started in 1997.
The Daily Beast
Former Editor-in-Chief, John Avlon described the publication's political stance as: "non-partisan but not neutral" ... "what that means is we're going to hit both sides where appropriate, but we're not going for mythic moral equivalence on every issue.
TechNewsWorld
Real-time headline news service covering technology and computer news worldwide.
Axios.com
Axios was created to "deliver the clearest, smartest, most efficient and trustworthy experience for audience and advertisers alike."
AJR/ Newslink
more...less...
This American Journalism Review site provide links to over 4,000 newspapers, magazines, broadcasters and news services worldwide. Can be useful for finding comprehensive lists of newspapers published in various geographical locations.

News Podcasts

River to River (Iowa Public Radio)
"River to River is Iowa Public Radio's talk program focusing on the news, issues and events in our state. This national award-winning program goes beyond the headlines, frames community problems, and fosters conversation"
Marketplace Morning Report
"A public media outlet that produces broadcast shows, podcasts, digital reporting and more....committed to covering business and the economy in ways that everyone can understand."
NPR Podcasts
Sorted by programs and subject categories.
Counter Spin (FAIR)
"Counter Spin provides a critical examination of the major stories every week, and exposes what corporate media might have missed in their own coverage"
After The Fact (Pew Charitable Trust)
"Pew addresses the challenges of a changing world by illuminating issues, creating common ground, and advancing ambitious strategies that lead to tangible progress."
On Point Radio (WBUR)
"...public space where you hear nuanced explorations of complex topics live and in real time. It’s urgency and timeliness matched with depth. Podcasts, too, are rising as powerful tools for long-format journalism. But by definition, on-demand content is decoupled from the immediacy of the day’s or week’s news."
Vox Conversations
".... brings you discussions between the brightest minds and the deepest thinkers; conversations that will cause you to question old assumptions and think about the world and our role in it in a new light."
The Daily - By The New York Times
"The Daily" is a news podcast and radio show produced by The New York Times and hosted by Times' political journalist Michael Barbaro. Its 20 to 30 minutes episodes are based on the Times' reporting of the day and airs every weekday.
More NYT Podcasts
Other New York Times podcasts can be found on this site.