Subject - Scientists - JL MC 201 & JL MC 302 - Library Guides at Iowa State University

American Men and Women of Science
Call Number: Q141 Am35 (Parks Library Reference - Tier 2)
Online version is 2005 edition.
Call number is for the 2009 edition in print.
This 8-volume set features over 120,000 brief biographies of living scientists located in North America. Each entry provides an individual scientist's birth date, birthplace, field of specialty, education, honorary degrees, current position, professional and concurrent experience, awards, memberships, research information, and contact information, including postal and/or email addresses when available.

Biographical Encyclopedia of Scientists
Biographies focusing on physics, chemistry, biology, astronomy, and the earth sciences. It also covers medicine and mathematics and includes a selection of people in engineering, technology, anthropology, psychology, and philosophy. It also includes a pronunciation guide and quotations.
Biographical Memoirs of the National Academy of Sciences
These biographies provide a personal and scholarly view of the lives and work of America's most distinguished scientists and a biographical history of science in the United States.
Cambridge Dictionary of Scientists
An illustrated biographical dictionary covering over 1,500 key scientists from 40 countries.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.
Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography
Provides links to free, online biographies in categories: branch of science, gender/minority status, historical periods, nationality, and award winners.
Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography
"Provides an authoritative and accessible look at the lives of the men and women who have shaped science."

Modern American Environmentalists by George A. Cevasco and Richard P. Harmond
Call Number: GE55 M63x 2009 (Parks Library - Floor 4)
ISBN: 0801891523
Publication Date: 2009
Profiles the lives and contributions of nearly 140 major figures during the twentieth-century environmental movement. The entries recount how each individual became active in environmental conservation, detail his or her significant contributions, trace the influence of each on future efforts, and discuss the person's legacy.

Women in Science

A to Z of Women in Science and Math by Lisa Yount
Call Number: Q141 .Y675 2008 (Parks Library - Tier 1)
Publication Date: 2007
This book profiles 195 women. Indexes allow the reader to search by profession, country of birth, country of major scientific activity, and year of birth.
Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science
Call Number: Q141 B5285 2000 (Tier 2 - Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 2000
This 2 volume set combines "facts-fronted" fast access to biographical details with highly readable accounts and analyses of nearly 3000 scientists' lives, works, and accomplishments.
International Encyclopedia of Women Scientists by Elizabeth H. Oakes
Call Number: Q141 .O27 2002 (Tier 2 - Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 2001
International Women in Science by Catharine M. C. Haines
Call Number: Q141 H2167 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Provides a list of women scientists by specialty, and a comprehensive index. Each entry contains a full bibliography.