Skip to main content
More Sign Ons...
Iowa State University
My Library Card
Call (515 294-3642)
Special types of material
Religion and Philosophy
Search this Guide
Check this guide to find encyclopedias that are online. Some are general encyclopedias; some are specialized, focused on specific subject areas.
Art & Architecture
Religion and Philosophy
Theater & Dance
Environment and Ecology
Health & Human Nutrition
Horticulture, Botany and Agriculture
Statistics and Mathematics
Clothing and Textiles
Criminology and Criminal Justice
Demographics & Geography
Human Development and Family Studies
Journalism and Mass Communication
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Studies
Encyclopedias for Religion and Philosophy
The Catholic Encyclopedia
An international work of reference on the constitution, doctrine, discipline and history of the Catholic Church
Companion Encyclopedia of Theology
The Concise Encyclopedia of Western Philosophy
Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
2000. International coverage of philosophy from the ancients to the present day. Also includes biographical information about philosophers.
Contemporary American religion
Includes more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
Encyclopedia Mythica: An Encyclopedia on Mythology, Folklore, and Legend
Brief articles on topics in mythology from around the world, arranged by culture. Includes search engine.
Encyclopedia of American Religious History
Encyclopedia of Buddhism
2004. Includes the history and contemporary aspects of Buddhism.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy
"Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage."--from book notes
Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories
2000. Primarily second-wave feminist theories (from 1960 on), covering the theories as well as biographies of the major theorists.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
includes subjects related to Islam in history and the modern world, and biographies of influential people.
The Encyclopedia of Public Choice
Encyclopedia of Religion
2005. Cross-cultural. Emphasizes religion in everyday life and from culture to culture.
Encyclopedia of Science & Religion
Addresses all aspects of the dialogue between the sciences and the world's religions, reaching into the humanities as well as into the physical sciences and technology.
Encyclopedia of Science, Technology and Ethics
Encyclopedia of War and Ethics
1996. A volume with entries that seek to relate war to ethics.
Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend
Scholarship in the fields of mythology, folklore and legend.
Gale Encyclopedia of the Unusual and the Unexplained
Covers topics relating to magic, witchcraft, the supernatural and other mysterious phenomena.
The Hutchinson Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
1997- . Encyclopedic entries on philosophers and philosophical topics.
Judaism 101 is an online encyclopedia of Judiasm, covering Jewish beliefs, people, places, things, language, scripture, holidays, practices and customs.
Logic from A - Z: The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Glossary of Logical and Mathematical Terms
Marxists Internet Archive
Features over 100 Marxist writers, topical approaches to Marxism, historical archive, and an encyclopedia. Available in over 40 languages.
New Catholic Encyclopedia (Gale access)
Articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.
New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement 2010 (Gale access)
2010. Focuses on the WWII years and beyond. Includes biographical information on people who have been beatified or canonized since 2003.
Spirit Book: The Encyclopedia of Clairvoyance, Channeling, and Spirit Communication
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
1997- . The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a dynamic encyclopedia published by the Center for the Study of Language and Information at Stanford University.
Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center
The TBRC provides access to thousands of classical Tibetan Buddhist texts as well as an online encyclopedia that covers Tibetan Buddhism.
Library Instruction Services
140 Parks Library
Theater & Dance >>
Aug 8, 2018 12:57 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem
Art & Design Studies
Chemical & Biological Engineering
Criminal Justice Studies
English, Speech & Rhetoric
Ethnic Studies & Diversity
Food Science & Human Nutrition
Human Development & Family Studies
Journalism & Mass Communication
Mathematics & Statistics
Music & Theatre
Philosophy & Religion
Physics & Astronomy
Women's & Gender Studies