Provides links to more than 105,000 title records from more than 1800 commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and various private sites. About 66,000 of these books, texts, and documents are available free.
HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines, including Food Sciences. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked for their great historical importance. The full text of these materials, as well as bibliographies and essays on the wide array of subjects relating to Home Economics, are all freely accessible on this site.
This is a subset of the full JSTOR collection. It limits searches to just content found in the JSTOR Open Collection. It is primarily a collection of book chapters, but it also contains several thousand freely-accessible journal articles.
Since 1997, MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning & Online Teaching) has been building "a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community." Use Search to find learning materials in your area of interest.
Reports issued by the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council from 1996 to the present. Note that they include prices for each book; however, that is only if you wish to purchase paper versions of the books. All books on this site are freely available as PDF files. Simply click on the book title of interest and look for the link to "download FREE PDF."
Collection of data on chemicals gathered by the National Institute of Science and Technology. The dataset is searchable by chemical names, formulas, CAS registry number, structures, and various physical properties of chemicals
Contains books and journals on research conducted by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable titles held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries. Particularly strong in Ecology and Natural Resources and the History of Science.