Skip to main content

Meteorology Research Guide

Guide to locating resources for weather, climatological data, and meteorology.

Useful Links

Climatological Data

Climatological Data for the United States

This is a series of reports that were issued monthly and at the end of each year their was an annual summary. It is available in both print and electronic formats. The online version now provides data for 1890 to the present - but is only freely-accessible from ISU computers. The print versions of this setare available for checkout fromthe Library Storage Building - covering 1914-1920 and 1930-1979. Call number is: QC 983 Un3c


Climatological Data - Iowa

The online version will provide data for 1890 to the present and can be limited to show data for any specific U.S. state (again, access is limited to ISU computers). The Parks Library has the print volumes for1890-1998 in the General Collection at: QC984 Io9u

World Weather


Encyclopedia of World Climatology
is available in the Parks LibraryREFERENCE Collection at QC 854 E53x 2005.

Smithsonian Meteorological Tables for 1893-1949 were issued as part of the Smithsonian Miscellaneous Publications issued in v. 35, no. 1; v. 69, no. 1; v. 86; and v.114. These are available in the Parks Library General Collection at Q 1 Sm69m

World Survey of Climatology is a 16 volume set. Each volume covers a geographical area of the world - e.g., volume 7 covers the Soviet Union and volume 10 covers Africa. These are available in the Parks Library General Collection at QC 981 W67.

World Weather Records is not available online at this time. The Parks Library has copies of this for 1961-1990. The Library Storage Building has 1941-1960 at QC 982 W893.

Creative Commons Statement