Library Guides: Aeronautical and Aerospace Engineering Research Guide: Reference Resources

NASA Data Sources

NASA Astrophysics Data System (SAO/NASA ADS)
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 6.7 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints.
more...less...
The main body of data in the ADS consists of bibliographic records, which are searchable through highly customizable query forms (http://adsabs.harvard.edu/ads_abstracts.html), and full-text scans of much of the astronomical literature which can be browsed or searched via their full-text search interface (http://adsabs.harvard.edu/ads_browse.html). Integrated in its databases, the ADS provides access and pointers to a wealth of external resources, including electronic articles, data catalogs and archives. Currently contains links to over 7.2 million records 1975 - present.
Life Sciences Data Archive (LSDA)
NASA's Life Sciences Data Archive (LSDA) contains information and data from human and non-human space flight experiments and related ground control studies funded by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). This archive contains information about experiments conducted from NASA's first experiments during the 1960s to the present time.
more...less...
Information and data about space life sciences space flight experiments and missions can be retrieved and downloaded from a database called the Master Catalog. This site also includes an overview of life sciences missions and research, and the Digital Image Library - a searchable database of images from life sciences missions and experiments. A set of links to other sources of space life sciences information is also available under Related Resources.
National Space Science Data Center (NSSDC)
Serves as the permanent archive for NASA space science mission data. "Space science" means astronomy and astrophysics, solar and space plasma physics, and planetary and lunar science. As permanent archive, NSSDC teams with NASA's discipline-specific space science "active archives" which provide access to data to researchers and, in some cases, to the general public.
more...less...
NSSDC also serves as NASA's permanent archive for space physics mission data. It provides access to several geophysical models and to data from some non-NASA mission data. NSSDC provides on-line information bases about NASA and non-NASA data as well as spacecraft and experiments that generate NASA space science data. NSSDC is part of the Solar System Exploration Data Services Office (SSEDSO) in the Solar System Exploration Division at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center. NSSDC's staff consists largely of physical scientists, computer scientists, analysts, programmers, and data technicians.
NASA Technical Standards Program
The NASA Technical Standards Program is sponsored by the NASA Chief Engineer. The Program has as its primary mission the enhancement of NASA's engineering capabilities.
NASA TechFinder
NASA database of technology, licensing, software, and partnership opportunities for all 11 NASA centers.

Transportation Related Databases

TRIS Online (Transportation Research Information Services)
more...less...
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than 1.3 million records of transportation research worldwide.

TRIS Online is a public-domain, web-based version of the Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) bibliographic database. TRIS Online is published as a collaborative effort by the Transportation Research Board, part of the National Academies, and the National Transportation Library, part of Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS), Research and Innovative Technology Administration, (U.S. Department of Transportation).

The TRIS Online database contains over half a million records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Currently there are almost 24,000 TRIS records with links to electronic copies of the full-text. The time span covers literature from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage of prior years. Highway Research Board publications are covered back to 1923. TRIS coverage includes the disciplines of planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors and operations for the modes of highways, transit, railroads, maritime and aviation.

TRIS Online includes material indexed and abstracted by TRB as well as the material entered by the Transportation Libraries at the University of California at Berkeley and Northwestern University.

Currently TRIS Online does not include Research in Progress records or international records derived from the International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) database.

Update

Over the past two years the ITRD database has been subject to a review by the Joint Transport Research Committee of OECD. The outcome of the review, completed in March 2010, was to develop a new joint product with the US Transportation Research Board (TRB) which includes the full integration of ITRD into TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) database.

For a list of journals indexed in TRIS Online, click here.

NTSB Aviation Accident Database
Contains information from 1962 and later about civil aviation accidents and selected incidents within the United States, its territories and possessions, and in international waters.

Your Librarian

Jesse Garrison

He/Him

Email Me

Contact:

294-5077

Subjects: Aerospace Engineering, Computer Science, Geology, Mechanical Engineering, Meteorology, Physics & Astronomy

Aeronautical and Aerospace Engineering Research Guide

Other Links

NASA Data Sources

Transportation Related Databases

Update

Your Librarian