Library Guides: EndNote & EndNote Web: Adding References

Adding References

Now the fun begins! Below are the 3 main ways to begin adding your citations into EndNote or EndNote Web (EndNote Basic): Manual Entry, Direct Export, and Download & Import.

1. Manual Entry

Just like it sounds, if you have a specific citation, you can add it into EndNote or EndNote Web by typing it manually into the New Reference form.

In EndNote Web: Click the Collect tab and choose New Reference .

Choose the type of reference (citation) you have, using theReference Type pull-down menu located at the top of theNew Reference form. This provides you with appropriate fields (volume and issue, for example, for journal articles) in which to type your reference's data. Type your citation (reference) information into the appropriate fields (e.g.,Author, Title, Year , etc.).

Tip: You don't need to use every field - you'll see there are quite a few! You can also add value to your citations by adding your own Notes, Research Notes, Keywords, Labels, and more.

In EndNote: From top menu bar, choose References, then New Reference.

Choose the type of reference (citation) you have, using the Reference Type pull-down menu located at the top of the New Reference form. As with EndNote Web, this provides you with appropriate fields in which to type your reference's data. Then, just type your citation information into the appropriate fields.

2. Direct Export

Some indexes and databases have been designed to work very well with EndNote and EndNote Web. This allows you to search the index and select references for very easy exporting directly into EndNote and EndNote Web.

A short list of "Direct Export" indexes includes Web of Science databases (Web of Science Core Collection; BIOSIS Previews; CABI; Medline; etc.) and the large family of EBSCO databases.

In EndNote Web: First, enter the index or database of your choice, and search your topic. Select the references you want to collect to export to EndNote Web and then view your list of selections.
Note: Each index may have its own way to select or mark records, and its own way to view your marked list.

In EBSCO databases, open a single record from your search results then click Export on the right menu bar. Choose Direct Export to EndNote Web -you're done! To export multiple records,select references in your search results by clicking Add to Folder, and view your selected list by clicking Go to:Folder View in the topright column of your screen. Click Export (again, in right column), and choose Direct Export to EndNote Web, then Save. You should soon see your references appear in your EndNote Web account.

In Web of Science databases, select a reference by clicking the selection box to the left of each citation (reference). Then click the Save to: EndNote online button at the top of your search results list. You may be prompted to login to EndNote Web again. Your references should appear shortly in your EndNote Web account.

In EndNote: Open EndNote. Then, in your web browser, enter the index or database of your choice and search your topic. Select the references you want to collect. Again, each "Direct Export" database may work a bit differently, as described above for EndNote Web.

In EBSCO databases, click Add to Folder to select a reference; view your selected list by clicking Go To: Folder View (see right column of your screen in your EBSCO database), then click Export. Choose Direct Export in RIS Format (e.g., ... EndNote ...). You should see a downloaded file called delivery. RIS on your computer. Click the file to move/export it to EndNote, where you should see your references appear soon.
In Web of Science databases, select relevant references as described for EndNote Web, above. Click the Save to: EndNote button at the top of your search results list. You may be prompted again to click Export. You should see a downloaded file named savedrecs.ciw on your computer. Click the file to move/export it to EndNote. Your references should appear in EndNote shortly.

3. Download & Import (Indirect Export)

Many indexes and databases allow you to mark references of interest and save these to a file. You can then upload that file into EndNote or EndNote Web. This is an easy process, but usually involves a few steps. Once you're used to the process, it's a snap!

A short list of "Download & Import" indexes includes the diverse family of Proquest databases (such as Design & Applied Arts Index, ERIC, Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, PsycINFO, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, and many more); PubMed, SciFinder, and many others.

In EndNote Web: Open EndNote Web. Then, in your web browser, enter and search the index of your choice. Explore a bit to find out how your index of choice allows you to mark or select references to a file. Here's an example using Proquest indexes:

Step1: Select & download references. In Proquest indexes, simply click the box to the left of a reference to select it, then click the Save, Print, Email link at the top of the search results screen. Save your references as a Text file to your computer.

Step 2: Import your saved file to EndNote Web.Then,in EndNote Web, from the Collect tab at the top of your screen, choose Import References. Click Choose File button to locate your saved file on your computer. For Import Option, select your index from the drop-down menu. (If you can't find your index, choose RefMan RIS). Use the "To:" drop-down menu to locate the EndNote Web group to which you want to add your new references. Click Import button, and you're done!

- - - - -

* Note: Choosing your specific index in Import Option is an important step that helps ensure your references are mapped correctly into the appropriate Bibliographic Fields of EndNote Web's citation format (e.g., author to author field, title to title field, and so on).

In EndNote: Open EndNote. In your web browser, enter and search the index of your choice. As mentioned above, you may need to explore a bit to find out how your index allows marking/selecting and saving/downloading references.

Step 1: Select & download references from your index onto your computer or flash drive.

Step 2: In EndNote, choose File then Import from top menu bar, and click the Choose button to locate your downloaded file. For Import Option, select the index your references came from (or, if you can't find it, choose Reference Manager (RIS)). Then choose Import button, and you're done. You should see your new references appear in EndNote in just a bit.