Library Guides: ADVRT 434: Advertising Campaigns: Audience & Consumer Analysis

Google Scholar

ISU Factbook
Find demographic information on the ISU community, including statistics on gender, age, race and more. The "Reports" tab at the top of the page provides a quick view to the available data.
Iowa Community Indicators Program (ICIP)
This program by ISU provides resources for understanding regional economic and demographic changes. Among the areas covered include census profiles and retail analysis. It also has various data tables, maps and reports.

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect provides access to a comprehensive suite of business information that includes US and global business directories, D&B First Research Industry Reports, Nielsen PRIZM demographics, a job search database, and executive contact information.

data.census.gov
This site replaced the decommissioned American FactFinder.
Nielsen
Some content freely accessible on this site
VALS (Values and Lifestyles)
VALS (Values and Lifestyles) categorizes U.S. adult consumers into mutually exclusive groups based on their psychology and several key demographics. This site provides background information about VALS and an online version of the VALS questionnaire.
Doing Consumer Research: A Resource Guide
"Consumer research involves finding data on consumer behaviors or preferences, in order to establish a target market segment for products or services. This guide provides links to a wide variety of useful resources for your research."
Google Trends
Discover what's popular in Internet searching as a way of gauging trends and patterns.
The Right Site: Demographics Made Easy
Offers a number of free demographic reports.
Ames Chamber of Commerce
Find demographic information specific to Ames under this site's Community Profile section

Email Me

Contact:

150 Parks Library
Iowa State University

515-294-4681

Subjects: Apparel, Events & Hospitality Management, Journalism & Mass Communication, Law

How to Conduct Audience Analysis
This wiki provides a four part strategy for conducting an effective audience analysis
Reference USA
A premier source of business and residential information for reference and research. Can be accessed through your local public library by using your card number.
Market Research and Competitive Analysis (SBA)
A resource created by the US Small Business Administration.
Consumer Expenditure Surveys (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
"Links to CE tables that contain expenditure and income data for selected demographic and geographic characteristics."