Skip to main content

How to use Special Collections and University Archives at Iowa State University

This page provides an introduction to understanding and using the Special Collections & University Archives at Iowa State University.

Preferred citation

Our preferred citation format: Collection Title, Collection #, Special Collections and University Archives, Iowa State University Library.

Example: Frank Abraham Papers, RS 21/7/94, Special Collections and University Archives, Iowa State University Library.

Our requirements for citation may not correspond with the style guide you are required to use. In that case, refer to your required citation style guide.

Citation Style Guides

This page will provide links to various types of style guides available on the Internet.  Use these to format citations for papers.

Contact us

Special Collections & University Archives's picture
Special Collections & University Archives
Contact:
403 Parks Library
701 Morrill Road
Iowa State University Library
Ames, IA 50011
515 294-6672
Website / Blog Page

Contact us before you visit!

You will get access to the materials much faster if you contact the archives in advance. Here's why:

  • Off-site collections: Some of our collections are stored off site and staff will need time to retrieve them. We ask for 2 business days advance notice.
  • Related materials: Even if you have something specific you want to see (and know how to request it), we may have suggestions for other materials.
  • Check the holdings: As with most archives, many of our collections don't have detailed descriptions. If you're looking for a specific document or piece of information, contact the archives before making a trip so that you won't be disappointed if the collection doesn't have what you're looking for.
  • Research Help: We understand that using archives can be complicated. We know our collections and are truly happy to help!