Library Guides: Mechanical Engineering Research Guide: Material properties

How to find mechanical properties of materials

Finding materials property data isn't always a straightforward process. This information is often contained within books, articles, and other materials rather than existing separately, which can make it challenging to search for. Here are some resources to get you started in your search for material property information. For more help, contact your librarian.

Core mechanical properties data sources

ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of every volume of the ASM Handbook, plus two Desk Editions.
Knovel e-book collection This link opens in a new window
While the title calls this an e-book collection, Knovel is a great source of data on materials properties. Look for the "Data Search" link to search by material or property. Includes Knovel Critical Tables.
Please note that for members of the public visiting Parks Library, this resource is only available from a Parks Library workstation, and not from a mobile device connected to the campus wireless network:
Springer Materials This link opens in a new window
Physical and chemical data for various materials, drawn from the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the Linus Pauling Files, and specialized databases on thermophysical properties, polymer thermodynamics, adsorption isotherms, and 32,000+ substance profiles.

Aerospace Structural Metals Handbook
Properties data for hundreds of metals and alloys. Available in the Library's Standards Center (Rm. 161).

Additional properties data sources

Alloy Phase Diagram Database This link opens in a new window
Search and view thousands of binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data for inorganic systems.
Phase Equilibria Diagrams Database This link opens in a new window
Collection of 25,000 critically-evaluated phase equilibria diagrams for ceramic systems. Includes binary, ternary, and schematic diagrams.
MatWeb This link opens in a new window
Material property data for thermoplastic and thermoset polymers; metals and alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
MatWeb tutorial

NIST Chemistry WebBook
Collection of data on chemicals gathered by the National Institute of Science and Technology. The dataset is searchable by chemical names, formulas, CAS registry number, structures, and various physical properties of chemicals
Powder Diffraction File (PDF-4+)
The PDF contains 815,000+ unique material data sets. Each data set contains diffraction, crystallographic and bibliographic data, as well as experimental, instrument and sampling conditions, and select physical properties in a common standardized format. This database is only available in the Parks Library Media Center (Lower Level).
Smithsonian Physical Tables: William Elmer Forsythe, Smithsonian Institution
Provides tables concentrating on a broad scope of common physical and chemical data. The information provided is of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics.
Thermodex: an Index of Selected Thermodynamic Data Handbooks
From the Mallet Chemistry Library, University of Texas at Austin. A searchable index of selected thermodynamic data handbooks.

Jesse Garrison

He/Him

Email Me

Contact:

294-5077

Subjects: Aerospace Engineering, Computer Science, Geology, Mechanical Engineering, Meteorology, Physics & Astronomy