Skip to main content

U ST 301: Orientation and Introduction to Academic Research

McNair Seminar I

Finding Books, Articles & More

Use the Library's discovery tool to find books, articles and more items owned by the Library or accessible through our subscriptions and the open web.  Quick Search is powerful and quick, but can be hard to focus.

Research tip: Use keywords & short phrases instead of long natural language sentences. Like most scholarly indexes, Quick Search doesn't handle those well!

Always use Advanced Search and its dropdown menus for more focus.  The Tweak my results column on your search results screen also offers many other options to focus your results, including Peer-Reviewed.

Journal Sleuth!

Not sure what kind of journal or magazine article you have found?  Sleuth your journal in UlrichsWeb!

 

Research is strategic exploration!

Start by identifying the broad subject area(s) that your topic connects with.  This will help lead you to potentially appropriate research tools.  (Why "potentially"?  Exploration means trial and error may be involved!)

Try it out by visiting the Library website's Articles & Databases page.  Use the All Subjects dropdown menu to choose a broad subject area that looks relevant.  Read the short descriptions.  Can you find databases that may help you find articles relevant to your topic?

Be aware that you may need to search more than one database!

Student Success!

Image: courtesy stockimages, freedigitalphotos.net

FINDING ARTICLES - Education Indexes

FINDING ARTICLES - Other Indexes

PubMed Full text links icons

For full text options for the articles you find in PubMed, look for the Full text links icons in the upper right corner of your search results screen.

Your Librarian

Susan A. Vega García's picture
Susan A. Vega García
Contact:
Head of Instruction
Associate Professor
140 Parks Library
Iowa State University
Ames IA 50011
(515) 294-4052

Creative Commons Statement