Skip to Main Content

Archives - What They Are and How to Use Them

This is a general guide to using archival materials - what they are, where to find them, how they are organized, and how to use them. For questions about using the ISU Special Collections and University Archives specifically, click the "questions" tab.

Understanding Primary Sources

Library Guides

Primary & Secondary Sources in the Social Sciences & Humanities
by Library Instruction Services Last Updated Jan 25, 2024 278 views this year
Genealogy Research Guide
by Lorrie Pellack Last Updated Apr 14, 2024 704 views this year

Websites

Historical Thinking Project
A project that developed concepts and resources for teaching primary source literacy and historical research methodology.
Making Sense of Documents: Evidence
Guides to understanding the evidence found in a variety of historical primary sources: photographs, films, advertisements, maps, oral history, diaries, etc. It also offers guidance on how to use quantitative analysis for history research.

Books

Fashioning History by Robert F. Berkhofer; Robert F. Berkhofer
Call Number: PARKS General Collection (D16 .B466 2008)
ISBN: 9780230608689
Publication Date: 2008-11-15
Going to the Sources by Anthony Brundage
Call Number: PARKS General Collection D16 B893 2013
ISBN: 9781118515310
Publication Date: 2013-02-11
Telling the Truth about History by Joyce Appleby; Lynn A. Hunt; Margaret C. Jacob
Call Number: PARKS General Collection (E175 .A67 1994)
ISBN: 0393036154
Publication Date: 1994-04-01

Making Materials Ready for Use

"Before Processing: The Hypes Family Papers." Meghan Lyons for Duke University Libraries, 2011. Shared via CC BY-NC-SA 2.0.

After Processing - The Hypes Family Papers

"After Processing - The Hypes Family Papers" Meghan Lyon for Duke University Libraries, 2011, Shared via CC BY-NC-SA 2.0.

Contact Us

Special Collections & University Archives

Email Me

Contact:

403 Parks Library
701 Morrill Road
Iowa State University Library
Ames, IA 50011

515 294-6672

Subjects: Archives & Manuscripts

The library's collections and services are available to all ISU students, faculty, and staff and Parks Library is open to the public.

Last Updated: Jan 19, 2024 4:05 PM
URL: https://instr.iastate.libguides.com/archives
Print Page

Subjects: Archives & Manuscripts, Information Literacy, Library Science, Research & Publication, Teaching & Classroom Support

Tags: archives, manuscripts, photographs, primary sources, rare books, records, special collections