Skip to main content

Library Instruction Workshops

Listing of our current and archived workshops & webinars....

WORKSHOPS @ YOUR LIBRARY!

Library Workshops @ Parks Library

Registration information on Spring 2017 Workshops.

Pre-registration is required for all hands-on workshops.
Register for ISU Library Instruction Workshops online through the Learn@ISU website.
1. Visit the Learn@ISU website.

2.  Login with your Net-ID (username) and password (upper right corner)
3.  Click the Login button
4.  Locate the Keyword search box (upper left section) >Input "LIB" > Click Search
5.  Locate the workshop > Click List Events next to the appropriate workshop
6.  Click Enroll - a pop-up window will appear
7.  Click Register
8.  You will receive an email with the subject: Enrollment Confirmation

Getting Started with Mendeley

Friday, Feb. 24, 3:00 - 4:30
Wish you could…

  • Extract details from academic papers into a database?
  • Filter your library by authors, journals or key words?
  • Share and synchronize your library with selected colleagues?

This workshop for beginners introduces Mendeley.

Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network. Make your own fully
searchable library in seconds, cite as you write, and read and annotate your PDFs on any device.


Getting Started with Zotero
Thursday, March 2, 3:00 - 4:30 p.m.

Zotero is a great free tool for managing citations and documents, ideal for tracking sources used in your research.  This workshop will show you the basics so you can:

  • Collect and organize articles and citations -- add notes and personalized tags
  • Sync data – add references even when away from your own computer
  • Add references to Word documents and reformat citations to meet any journal’s style
  • Share citations and documents through a Group Library

Join us to get started with Zotero!  You are welcome to bring your laptop to jump right in or use an ISU computer for some hands-on experience.


Beyond the Text: Rare Books as Artifacts
Friday, March 3, 3:00 - 4:30 p.m.
What will you discover when you approach a book beyond its text and examine it as an artifact? Learn to identify unique features of early printed books (circa 1450-1850) and what they indicate about their design and production. This is a great opportunity to examine books from the library's rare books collection and discover what makes them so special and exciting.


Hands on History: Using Primary Sources in the Classroom
Thursday, March 30, 3:00 - 4:30 p.m.
Are you curious about using primary sources in your classroom? This hands-on workshop will demonstrate how you can incorporate primary source analysis and research into your classroom, whether you want to use historical documents available online or materials from Special Collections & University Archives at Iowa State University. This is not just for history instructors, primary source literacy benefits students in all subject areas, including those teaching 6th-12th grade."


Exploring the Archives: A Case of Academic Freedom
Thursday, April 6, Noon - 1:00 p.m.

During the 1940s the Iowa State campus was embroiled in a bitter feud over the recommendation that oleomargarine could be a suitable substitute for butter in the homes of Iowa families. Explore this unique moment in Iowa State’s history through an examination of primary source materials from Special Collections and University Archives and discover how activities like this can be used in classes to develop analytical thinking skills.


Getting Started with Arduino, Raspberry Pi, and Makey Makey‚Äč
Thursday, April 6, 3:00 - 4:30 p.m.

Want to build a banana piano or a temperature sensor alarm?  Maybe you want a houseplant to Tweet when it needs watering, or you’re just interested in learning more about electronics and how they work?

This workshop will introduce the basics, pros, and cons of Arduino, Raspberry Pi, and Makey Makey, three microcontrollers which allow interactions between computers and the physical world.  Participants will get hands-on time to build simple example circuits, and all types of kits are available for checkout from Parks Library for continued exploration after the workshop.

Prior experience with coding is helpful but not required.  Desktop computers will be provided, but you are welcome to bring your own laptop if you want to save and edit your work afterward.

Watch for mailings, flyers, and e-Library news!
Contact Jody Kalvik with registration questions.

Past Spring 2017 Workshops

Journal Citation Reports Training
This workshop was held on January 31, Noon - 1:00 p.m.

Data Management Planning: An Introduction 
This workshop was held on February 16, 3-4:30 p.m.

Your Librarian

Library Instruction Programs
Contact:
140 Parks Library
515-294-4052