Library Guides: NREM 460: Controversies in Natural Resource Management: Find Articles

Searching for articles

Articles

It is most efficient to find resources on your topic by utilizing databases as they contain information about journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, meeting reports, and more

Deciding which database to use depends on what you are trying to accomplish. For basic information you can start with a General database. If you need more in-depth information try using one of the subject databases.

Articles & Databases
Databases for finding individual journal articles and conference papers by topic, author, and more. Most require ISU Library login.

General Databases

Use a general database or index when you're not sure where to start, which terms to use, or if you are researching an interdisciplinary topic.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Try starting with Academic Search Complete before moving on more specialized databases. ASC contains peer-reviewed research, trade, and popular publications.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
Scopus This link opens in a new window A large database of peer-reviewed literature in all subject areas.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window A cultivated selection of peer-reviewed research articles. It doesn't cover all subjects equally well.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Results are limited to just scholarly sources. It includes content from academic websites such as publishers, universities and professional associations. It will find presentations, Word documents, and other file types not typically found in other databases.

News Databases

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Providing access to a comprehensive collection of over 2,000 newspapers and news sources from around the world.
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It includes numerous images, radio and TV broadcast reviews and transcripts.
Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
Leveraging the freedom of independently published grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals as a counterweight to corporate controlled mainstream media perspectives, Alt-Press Watch is the go-to place for alternative voices above the din of the profit driven news sources. With coverage dating back to 1970, the database features about a million articles from over 270 publications, offering a wide range of unfettered, critical coverage of the news.
Alt-Press Watch tutorial
Des Moines Register - ProQuest Access This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text access to the Des Moines Register. It goes back to 1999. For earlier issues dating from 1871, please use ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. North Central collection.
Des Moines Register - ProQuest Access tutorial

More news databases
Browse the ISU library's entire collection of news and newspaper databases.

Biology/Ecology Databases

Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide This link opens in a new window Covers all aspects of ichthyology, fisheries, aquaculture and aquatic biology back to the 1970s.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window The world’s largest index of literature on wildlife including mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and more.

Agriculture Databases

CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window CAB Abstracts is one of the largest agricultural databases covering international research literature in a wide range of subjects across the applied life sciences – from agriculture, the environment, and veterinary sciences, to applied economics, leisure/tourism, and nutrition. Especially useful to find information for specific countries on these topics. CAB Abstracts tutorial
PubAg This link opens in a new window Full-text articles relevant to agricultural sciences. Focuses on U.S. government research but also includes research outside of government agencies.

Geology Databases

Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection This link opens in a new window Contains full text of publications related to aquatic sciences, fisheries, meteorology, geology, astrophysics, and pollution. It includes journal and magazine articles, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database in the geosciences.
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window A database for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database of select peer-reviewed journals.
OnePetro This link opens in a new window A unique library of technical documents and journal articles serving the oil and gas exploration and production industry.

BioMedical Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed provides over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Should I use Google Scholar?

Google Scholar is an ok tool for research but you'll get better results in less time if you learn how use advanced databases (like those linked on this page). They're not that hard to use and as long as the database is a good match for your topic, you should get better results.

Heather Lewin

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

150 Parks Library

(515) 294.1004

Subjects: Agriculture, Biological Sciences, Chemical & Biological Engineering, Chemistry, Mechanical Engineering